持续发行(CR)软件库

1. 目的

持续发行(CR)软件库以测试及 hotfix 为前提,把下个 CentOS 定点发行本内的组件公开,直至该版本被推出为止。

2. 问题

当有定点发行本时,上游供应商已经发行了新的源代码,但更新组件必须等待 ISO 都准备好了(譬如在创建 5.8 版的过程中),才会以「完整」的身份面世。当中的步骤包括:连同修正档创建新组件;解决在 anaconda 出现的安装问题;让 QA 小组审核内容;等待镜像同步至足够应付更新的负荷;和最终正式发行一个新的定点发行本。

对于新的主要发行版本(亦即是 .0 定点发行本),由于它没有前一个定点发行本带来的安全性问题,因此在 6.0 版被正式发行之先,没有需要分批推出更新;但就其它主要发行版本的现有安装而言,某些管理员在查看上游供应商发布的更新后,也许会希望在 CentOS 正式完成定点发行本的重建前获得这些更新。

3. 一个解决方法

选择这个方案的系统管理员能够在创建系统完成基本测试并输出组件后,立刻访问这些新的组件。它们所接受的审核不及 QA 阶段时全面(注:「不及……全面」不等同没有 QA 测试……它只代表较正式发行时少)。在此阶段,组件不会通过正常渠道(邮件列等)发布。这些发布只会当组件被安置在相关的 /os 或 /updates 软件库时才出现。创建这些组件的程序与 CentOS 发行其它组件的相同,但它们也许基于上述理由仍未能整合至 ISO 内。

我们会尝试通过此方式发放最重要的安全性更新,与此同时,我们会继续处理有问题的组件,以及创建和测试 ISO。

相比起 CentOS 的主目录,这个「CR 软件库」很可能会有较多组件出现问题,但在多数情况下它应该完全可用。假若你担心较少的 QA 会稍微增加问题组件的风险,你可在全面部署前先进行测试。

此外还有其它解决方法,譬如以一次性的方式在本地重建已公开的 SRPM 为组件来处理特定的 CVE。重建 SRPM 的一般程序已记载在这个 wiki 内。

4. 用法

是否采用此软件库是系统管理员以实际行动作出的选择。

针对 CentOS 5 及 6 的安装指引:你可通过执行 yum install centos-release-cr 来安装 CR 软件库。该组件已收录在缺省被启用的 CentOS Extras 软件库内。

针对 CentOS 7 的安装指引:该软件库配置文件已包含在最新版的 centos-release 组件内。首先利用 yum update 更新你的系统并取得最新的 centos-release 组件,然后执行 yum-config-manager --enable cr 来启用 CR 软件库。

你可以执行 yum repolist 来确认你的软件库设置是正确的。你应该在软件库清单中看见 CR 软件库。CR 软件库将会维持空置及被略过,直至组件在定点发行本的过渡期被放进去。当新的定点发行本已被建完,该软件库便会被清理,但你可选择继续启用 CR 软件库。这样你便能获得下一个定点发行本的 CR 更新。

5. 公布

发行至 centos-cr 软件库的 RPM 是在 centos-cr-announce 邮件列表 http://lists.centos.org/mailman/listinfo/centos-cr-announce 上公布的。按现时的计划,当 CR 组件在下一个 CentOS 版本推出时,它们会再次在主要的 centos-announce 邮件列表上被公布。如果你设置或采用 centos-cr 软件库,请你同时也订阅 centos-cr-announce 邮件列表。另外,你也可设立一个按不变的 List-ID 来辨认电邮的邮件过滤器。

Translation of revision 19

zh/AdditionalResources/Repositories/CR (last edited 2015-07-29 09:50:59 by TimothyLee)

The Continuous Release ( CR ) Repository

1. Purpose

The continuous release ( CR ) repository makes generally available packages that will appear in the next point release of CentOS, on a testing and hotfix basis until formally released.

2. The Issue

At a point release stage, new sources have been released by the upstream vendor, but binary updates are not formally issued as complete until the ISOs are ready (e.g., here, during the 5.8 release build process ). This entails, in part building the updated RPMs with any needed patches; solving installer issues that crop up in anaconda; verification by the QA group of content; the delay while mirrors synchronize sufficiently to handle the update load; and finally formal release of a new point release.

For new major releases (i.e., the .0 point release), there is not a prior point release in the major release series which may need security issues addressed, and so no need for streaming out 6.0 series updates before 6.0 itself was formally released; however for existing installs of a given major release, some administrators may desire, after review of announced updates from the upstream vendor, updates sooner than the complete CentOS point release rebuild process formerly permitted.

3. A Resolution

System administrators who choose to opt-in to this process can access the newly built packages, as soon as they are exported from the build system. They are less comprehensively reviewed in the QA validation stage (Note: "Less comprehensively" does not mean no QA testing ... it just means less than the full release). At this stage the packages are NOT announced via the regular channels ( mailing lists, etc). The announcements take place only when the packages land in their corresponding /os or /updates repository. The binary process of production of the packages is the same as with any other packages released by CentOS, but they may not be capable of being assembled into an integrated ISO yet, for the reasons noted above.

We will try to get the most important security updates out this way while we work on packages with issues and getting the ISOs built and tested.

This "CR Repo" will likely have a few more build issues than you would see in the main CentOS trees, but it should be fully usable in almost all cases. If you are concerned about the slight increased risk of a badly built package because of the lesser QA then you can test prior to full deployment.

Other resolutions also exist, such as performing local rebuilds of the generally available SRPMs into binary RPMs, on a bespoke and one off basis to address specific CVE's. The SRPM rebuild process is documented on a general basis in this wiki.

4. Usage

Usage of the CR repository is entirely optional to a system administrator, and is based on their express actions to opt-in: one has to explicitly install a centos-specific package named centos-release-cr. Once installed it will provide the information needed by yum to access the packages.

The centos-release-cr rpm is now part of the Extras repository. By default, it can be installed using the command:

yum install centos-release-cr

The CR repository will be empty and ignored until packages are placed in it at point release roll-over time. It will be emptied once the new point release is complete, but you can remain with the CR repository enabled if you so choose. This will allow you to be set up to receive CR updates for the next point release roll-over cycle.

5. Announcements

RPMs released into the centos-cr repository are announced at the centos-cr-announce list. The plan is that CR packages will also be re-announced into the main centos-announce list when the rpms are released into the next CentOS release. If you setup or use the centos-cr repository, please also subscribe to the centos-cr-announce list. Optionally, you may wish to setup a mail filter to permit identification of emails based on the List-ID in the headers, which should be of an invariant form.

AdditionalResources/Repositories/CR (last edited 2013-01-31 21:52:23 by AkemiYagi)