Contribuer au projet CentOS

Si vous recherchez des choses à faire pour le projet, il y'a une liste « ToDo » (à faire) en ligne. Nous sommes aussi à la recherche d'informations et d'idées. Plus important encore, des personnes désireuses d'aider à la refonte du site web CentOS sont les bienvenues. Pour plus d'informations, lisez la page Site Web version 2

1. Aidez autrui sur les listes de diffusion, les forums ou encore IRC

Nous avons beaucoup d'utilisateurs à la recherche de bons conseils. Si vous êtes expérimenté et que vous désirez aider le projet, participer sur les listes de diffusion, les forums ou sur IRC est un bon moyen d'en apprendre d'autant plus, de faire de nouvelles connaissances. Vous verrez qu'il est gratifiant d'aider autrui.De plus, cela donne aux autres personnes plus de temps pour contribuer dans d'autres domaines de CentOS.

2. Aidez en rapportant des bogues et en les corrigeant

Il n'est pas rare que des utilisateurs de CentOS trouvent des problèmes, s'attendaient à autre chose, ou s'y prennent mal. Nous encourageons nos utilisateurs à remplir des rapports de bogues dans notre système de suivi des bogues, mais cela n'est cependant pas fait pour apporter de l'aide. Nous avons donc besoin de personnes aidant au support sur les listes de diffusion et les forums. Les réels problèmes trouvés au sein de CentOS doivent être vérifiées, trouvées, et envoyé à la source (Red Hat) dès que possible.

La chasse aux bogues demande des compétences et du temps, mais c'est une activité très gratifiante. Les paquets de test sont annoncés et discutés sur la liste des développeurs CentOS. Utiliser ces paquets de test (CentOS-4 ou CentOS-5), et rapporter votre expérience à leur propos nous aidera à les intégrer dans CentOS. Lisez la page concernant les Dépôts pour plus d'informations.

3. Contribuez au Wiki

Nous aimerions avoir un wiki ouvert, où chacun pourrait écrire sans avoir d'étapes à franchir. Nous ne le pouvons malheureusement pas. Dites merci à tous ces envoyeurs de pourriel qui « contribuent » avec leur soupe partout sur le web.

Afin de conserver le contenu du wiki sain, nous modérons actuellement les articles postés sur celui-çi. Afin de pouvoir soumettre du contenu:

La liste de diffusion CentOS-docs ne sert pas uniquement pour demander des permissions afin d'éditer le wiki, mais aussi pour discuter de manière plus générale de la documentation de CentOS, et de la qualité des articles présents sur celui-çi.

Initialement, les droits d'édition seront donnés pour quelques sections seulement (principalement les pages que vour allez créer). Quand vous aurez contribué une quantité non négligeable d'articles, et montré le désir de laisser ces pages à jour, vous pourrez éventuellement obtenir un accès étendu.

Comme énoncé précédemment: Nous sommes vraiment désolés d'avoir à fonctionner de cette manière, mais nous espérons pouvoir rendre la procédure plus aisée à l'avenir.

3.1. Contenu du Wiki

Vous devez vous demander quel type de contenu a sa place sur le wiki. Pour faire court:

Tout ce qui est lié au projet, ce qui en fait partie, ou des extentions utiles.

Gardez à l'esprit qu'il ne s'agit pas seulement de créer de la documentation, mais aussi de la mettre à jour et de la maintenir.

Si vous travaillez sur un composant qui dispose déjà de sa propro infrastructure de documentation, l'étendre et l'améliorer est préférable à la réplication de cette documentation.

<!> Le contenu est accepté uniquement sous licence « Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License ».

3.2. Suivre les modifications

Vous êtes invités à suivre les modifications du wiki. Elles peuvent être suivies avec la fonctionnalité des Changements Récents (RecentChanges) ou par courriel. Afin de rester informé par courriel, allez dans les préférences de votre compte et définissez les pages que vous voulez observer dans la section « Subscribed wiki pages ». Vous pouvez utiliser des expressions rationnelles. Ainsi, si vous désirez suivre les changements du wiki dans sa totalité, ajoutez simplement .* dans la section. Les membres du groupe d'édition (EditGroup) peuvent faire des corrections directement. Les changements majeurs doivent être discutés sur la liste de diffusion CentOS-docs.

4. Aidez à la rédaction du bulletin d'information CentOS

Le bulletin mensuel d'information CentOS (aussi connu sous le nom de « CentOS Pulse ») vous rapporte ce qui se passe dans la communauté CentOS. Nous sommes à la recherche de contributeurs em matière d'idées et de contenu. Une page dédiée indiquant comment aider au bulletin d'information existe.

5. Proposez vos paquets RPM

Vous pouvez proposer vos propres paquets RPM pour le dépôt CentOS contrib. Voici la marche à suivre.

6. Reloignez ou démarrez un projet CentOS

Il existe plusieurs projets centrés autour de la distribution CentOS, que vous pouvez rejoindre et aider. Il n'y a pas de prérequis, l'adhésion est ouverte à tout membre de la communauté CentOS. Vous pouvez obtenir la liste, et une brève description des projets ici.

Vous y trouverez aussi les informations indiquant comment démarrer un nouveau projet.

7. Aidez à la promotion de CentOS

Nous sommes à la recherche de personnes pour promouvoir CentOS, que ce soit au travers d'expériences positives postées sun un blog, ou plus directement via la promotion lors de conférences. Dans tous les cas il est important d'être honnête à propos de CentOS en tant que plate-forme, et d'expliquer ses avantages et inconvénients afin que les gens comprennent quels sont les choix dont ils disposent, et pour quelles raisons CentOS ou toute autre distribution a été choisie.

8. Donner au projet

Si vous n'avez pas le temps pour aider le projet, ou si vous manquez des compétences nécessaires pour contribuer, vous pouvez si vous le désirez, faire un don au projet. Les contributions monétaires nous aident à promouvoir CentOS, à payer les frais divers et aider à la logistique pour encourager le projet.

9. Aider le processus Beta de Red Hat (en amont) pour un meilleur futur de CentOS

Le projet CentOS limite intentionellement les changements au sein de la distribution vis-à-vis des sources en amont. Le but de CentOS est de répliquer l'amont afin de pouvoir le remplacer sans effort, en enlevant le contenu de marque déposée, et en ajoutant des contournements pour les technologies non libres utilisées en amont.

Il y a un autre moyen d'améliorer le projet CentOS de manière extérieure. Il s'agit de tester le produit en amont quand il est en phase de test (beta), et de leur rapporter les problèmes rencontrés. Cependant, le produit RHEL beta n'est pas disponible au public, mais seulement à leurs clients.

Si vous disposez d'un accès valide au réseau RH (qui est nécessaire pour accéder aux produits beta), allez sur le site du réseau RH, authentifiez-vous, cliquez sur téléchargement, étendez le canal de la dernière RHEL pour votre architecture, et rendez-vous sur la partie beta. Vous y trouverez les images ISO de la dernière RHEL beta.

fr/Contribute (last edited 2009-11-11 20:37:40 by LaurentWandrebeck)

Contributing to the CentOS project

If you are looking for things that need to be done for the project, there is a ToDo list online. We are also actively prospecting for information / ideas and most importantly people to help with the main CentOS website rebuild effort. For more information look at the WebsiteVer2 page.

1. Help others on the mailing list, forums or IRC

We have a lot of users asking for good advice. If you are experienced and want to help the project, helping out on the mailing lists, the forums or on IRC is a good way to learn more yourself, and a good way to make new friends and feel good about helping others. Besides, it gives others time to contribute in other ways as well.

2. Help with hunting bugs and finding fixes

It is not uncommon that CentOS users find problems, have different expectations or simply are doing something wrong. We encourage our users to file bug-reports in our own bug tracking system, but this is not meant as a support system. So we need people helping to divert support questions to the mailing lists and forums, genuine issues need to be confirmed and hunted, and send upstream whenever possible.

It takes time, effort and skills to help tracking bugs, but it is a very rewarding thing to do. Testing packages are announced and discussed on the CentOS Developer's list. Using and reporting on packages in the CentOS-5 or CentOS-6 testing repos will help get them into CentOS. See AdditionalResources/Repositories for more details.

3. Contribute to the Wiki

As much as we would like to have an open Wiki where everyone can write without jumping through hoops, we're not able to do so. Say thanks to all the spammers out there who "contribute" their stuff everywhere on the web.

So to keep our Wiki content clean and accurate, we are presently moderating the articles posted there. In order to submit content:

The CentOS-docs mailing list is not just used for requesting Wiki edit permissions but also for general discussion about the CentOS documentation and the quality of the Wiki articles.

Initially edit rights will be allocated to some sections of the Wiki (mainly the specific pages you create). Once you have posted a significant quantity of content and have shown a desire to keep it updated, we would open up access.

As said: We're really sorry that we have to do it this way but we hope to change the process in the future so it becomes easier to contribute to the Wiki.

3.1. Wiki Content

You may wonder what kind of content should be published on the wiki. In one single sentence:

Everything that is related to the project, its shipped components or useful extensions.

Please keep in mind that it's not only about creating documentation but also about updating and maintaining it, as appropriate.

If you are working on a component that already has its own documentation infrastructure, extending and improving those documents would be preferred instead of replicating the documentation.

<!> Content is accepted only under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

3.2. Monitoring Changes

You are invited to monitor changes on the wiki. Those can either be tracked with the RecentChanges function of the wiki system or via eMail. To get informed about changes via eMail, open your account preferences and define the sites you want to monitor under 'Subscribed wiki pages'. You can make use of regular expressions, so if you want to monitor the complete wiki simply add .* here.

Members of the EditGroup you will be able to make corrections directly. Major changes should be discussed on the CentOS-docs mailinglist.

4. L10n

Translating parts of the CentOS project to different languages may be useful for non-English speaking users. The localization process ("L10n", where the 10 is being a way of replacing the middle 10 letters of the word) contains many aspects, starting off with the translation of a specific component and leading into change tracking. This guarantees that translated content is always up to date.

If you are interested in taking part, you should first decide whether you want to translate wiki pages, anaconda slides or just assist on international fora or lists. Afterwards, please introduce yourself on the -docs ML and join up (possibly) existing translation teams. If necessary, you will be granted access to the specific resources.

4.1. Wiki localization

For each supported language a Wiki Category either exists or will be created in form of:

http://wiki.centos.org/$LANG

where $LANG is the ISO 3166-1-alpha-2 country code. Translated pages should be named similar to the English ones, e.g. the German translation of:

http://wiki.centos.org/TipsAndTricks/CDtoDVDMedia

is named:

http://wiki.centos.org/de/TipsAndTricks/CDtoDVDMedia

<!> If a page does not yet exist, it will be automatically redirected to the English one. In order to create it you have to add ?action=edit to the page link.

Please add a note in the form of 'Translation of revision $REV' to each translated page, where $REV is the revision number of the English document that you have translated.

5. Help with Artwork

If you think you're good with graphics, do help out within our Artwork SIG Artwork project's Trac.

6. Help with the CentOS newsletter

The monthly CentOS newsletter (aka. CentOS Pulse) reports about what happens in the CentOS community. We are looking for more people to contribute ideas and content for the newsletter. There is a special page about how to start contributing to the newsletter.

7. Join or start a CentOS Project

There are several projects about and focused on the core CentOS distribution that you can join and help with. There is no real signup requirements, and membership to the projects is open to everyone in the CentOS community. You can get a list along with a brief overview of the existing projects here.

You will also find details on how to go about starting a new project on the same page.

8. Help promote CentOS

We are actively looking for people to promote CentOS, either through positive experiences on a blog, or more direct through promotion on conferences. In both cases it is important to be honest about CentOS as a platform and to explain both advantages and disadvantages so that people understand what choices they have and remember for what reasons they did choose CentOS or something else.

9. Donating to the project

If you don't have the time to help out with the project or you lack the necessary skills to contribute your time, feel free to donate to our cause. We don't take monetary donations, but there are things we might need, like CDs, DVDs, T-Shirts or whatever. Just contact us.

10. Helping the Upstream Beta process for a better future CentOS

The CentOS project intentionally limits what it will change in its own core distribution compared to its upstream. The CentOS goal is to replicate its upstream with a drop in replacement, eliding trademarked content and adding workarounds for non-free technologies used upstream.

One place, external to the CentOS project, per se, to influence positively the upstream's product is by testing their Betas when they are in a Beta cycle; and by reporting issues upstream on an ongoing basis.

Contribute (last edited 2014-12-20 13:58:20 by AnssiJohansson)