IPTables

1. 引言

CentOS 内置了一个非常强劲的防火墙,统称为 iptables,但更正确的名称是 iptables/netfilter。iptables 是一个用户空间的模块。作为用户,你在命令行就是通过它将防火墙规则放进缺省的表里。netfilter 是一个核心模块,它内置于内核中,进行实际的过滤。iptables 有很多前端图像界面可以让用户新增或定义规则,但它们很多时不及使用命令行般有灵活性,而且限制用户了解实际发生的事情。我们将会学习 iptables 的命令行界面。

在我们正式应付 iptables 前,我们必须对它的运作有一个基本的理解。iptables 利用到 IP 地址、协议(tcp、udp、icmp)及端口这些概念。我们不需要成为这些方面的专家(因为我们可以找到所需的信息),但对它们有一般的理解会有帮助。

iptables 将规则放进缺省的规则链(INPUT、OUTPUT 及 FORWARD),而所有流量(IP 封包)都会被相关的规则链检查,根据当中的规则判断如何处理每个封包,例如:接纳或丢弃它。这些动作称为目标,而最常见的两个缺省目标就是 DROP 来丢弃封包;或 ACCEPT 来接纳封包。

规则链

我们可以在过滤表的 3 条缺省规则链内加入规则,来处理通过这些规则链的封包。它们分别是:

我们将会花费最多时间处理 INPUT 规则链,藉以过滤进入我们的机器的封包 —— 亦即是将坏蛋拒诸门外。

规则是以列表的方式被加进每条规则链。每个封包会被头一条规则开始检查,才至最后一条。假若封包与其中一条规则吻合,相应的动作便会被执行,例如接纳(ACCEPT)或丢弃(DROP)封包。一旦有吻合的规则,这个封包便会按照规则来处理,而不再被规则链内的其它规则所检查。假如封包通过所有检查而不符合任何规则链内的任何一条规则,那应这条规则链的缺省动作将会被执行。这就是所谓的缺省政策,可以设置为接纳(ACCEPT)或丢弃(DROP)封包。

规则链拥有缺省政策这个概念带来两个基本的可能性,而我们必须考虑它们才能决定如何组织我们的防火墙。

1. 我们可以缺省一个政策来丢弃(DROP)所有封包,然后刻意加入规则来接纳(ACCEPT)源自被信任的 IP 地址的封包,或者打开那些提供服务的端口,如:bittorrent、FTP 服务器、网页服务器、Samba 文件服务器等。

又或者,

2. 我们可以缺省一个政策来接纳(ACCEPT)所有封包,然后刻意加入规则来拦截(DROP)来自有问题的 IP 地址或系列的封包,也或者阻止封包进出只作私人用途或未提供服务的端口。

普遍来说,第一个方法多数用在 INPUT 规则链,因为我们会希望控制哪些东西可以访问我们的机器;而第二个方法多数用在 OUTPUT 规则链,因为我们多数信赖那些离开(源自)我们机器的封包。

2. 准备开始

在命令行上使用 iptables 需要 root 的权限,因此你必须化身为 root 用户来做下面的事情。

注意: 我们将会停用 iptables 及复位你的防火墙规则,因此假若你依赖你的 Linux 防火墙作为第一道防线,请特别留意这点。

iptables 应该缺省被安装在所有 CentOS 5.x 及 6.x 上。你可以这样来检查 iptables 是否已安装在你的系统上:

$ rpm -q iptables
iptables-1.4.7-5.1.el6_2.x86_64

要知道 iptables 是否正在运作中,我们可以检查 iptables 这个模块是否已被装入,并利用 -L 这个选项来查看活动的规则:

# lsmod | grep ip_tables
ip_tables              29288  1 iptable_filter
x_tables               29192  6 ip6t_REJECT,ip6_tables,ipt_REJECT,xt_state,xt_tcpudp,ip_tables

# iptables -L
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination         
ACCEPT     all  --  anywhere             anywhere            state RELATED,ESTABLISHED 
ACCEPT     icmp --  anywhere             anywhere            
ACCEPT     all  --  anywhere             anywhere            
ACCEPT     tcp  --  anywhere             anywhere            state NEW tcp dpt:ssh 
REJECT     all  --  anywhere             anywhere            reject-with icmp-host-prohibited 

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination         
REJECT     all  --  anywhere             anywhere            reject-with icmp-host-prohibited 

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination

从上面我们可看见一台 CentOS 6 系统的缺省规则。请留意访问 SSH 服务缺省是获允许的。

如果 iptables 并未被执行,你可以这样启用它:

# system-config-securitylevel

3. 创建一组简单的规则

注意: 此刻我们将会清除缺省的规则集。如果你是通过 SSH 远程连接到一台服务器来进行学习,你有可能会将自己拒诸这台机器之外。你必须将缺省的输入(input)政策改为接纳(accept),然后才清除现有规则,接著你要预先加入一条容许你自己访问机器的规则,避免你将自己封锁在外。

我们会采用一个以样例为本的方法来查看 iptables 的不同指令。在首个样例中,我们会创建一组简单的规则来设置一个「状态封包检验」(SPI)防火墙,容许对外的连接但拦截一切无用的对内连接:

# iptables -P INPUT ACCEPT
# iptables -F
# iptables -A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT
# iptables -A INPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT
# iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -j ACCEPT
# iptables -P INPUT DROP
# iptables -P FORWARD DROP
# iptables -P OUTPUT ACCEPT
# iptables -L -v

你应该得到这样的输出:

Chain INPUT (policy DROP 0 packets, 0 bytes)
 pkts bytes target     prot opt in     out     source               destination
    0     0 ACCEPT     all  --  lo     any     anywhere             anywhere
    0     0 ACCEPT     all  --  any    any     anywhere             anywhere            state RELATED,ESTABLISHED
    0     0 ACCEPT     tcp  --  any    any     anywhere             anywhere            tcp dpt:ssh
Chain FORWARD (policy DROP 0 packets, 0 bytes)
 pkts bytes target     prot opt in     out     source               destination
Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT 0 packets, 0 bytes)
 pkts bytes target     prot opt in     out     source               destination

现在让我们逐一看看以上的 8 个指令,并理解我们实际做了什么:

  1. iptables -P INPUT ACCEPT 假如利用远程连接,我们必须临时将 INPUT 链的缺省政策改为 ACCEPT,否则当我们清除现有的规则集时,便会将自己封锁在服务器之外。

  2. iptables -F 我们利用 -F 选项来清除一切现存的规则,好让我们能够在崭新的状态下加入的规则。

  3. iptables -A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT 现在是时候加入一些规则了。我们利用 -A 选项来附加(新增)规则到某条链,而这里所指的是 INPUT 链。接著我们利用 -i 选项(interface「界面」之意)来指定那些符合或来自 lo(localhost、127.0.0.1)界面的封包。最后我们 -j(jump「跳至」)符合这条规则的目标动作:在这里是 ACCEPT。所以这条规则会导致所有转至 localhost 界面的对内封包获得接纳。一般来说这是必须的,因为很多软件预期能够与 localhost 适配器沟通。

  4. iptables -A INPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT 这是担负起大部份工作的规则,而我们再一次将它加进(-A)INPUT 链内。这里我们利用 -m 选项来装入一个模块(state)。state 模块能够查看一个封包并判断它的状态是 NEW、ESTABLISHED 抑或 RELATED。NEW 指进入的封包属于不是由主机初始化的新增连接。ESTABLISHED 及 RELATED 指进入的封包隶属于一条现存的连接,或者与现存的连接有关系。

  5. iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -j ACCEPT 现在我们加入一条规则来容许 SSH 通过 tcp 端口 22 来连接。这样做是要防止我们连接到远程系统的 SSH 连接意外地被封销。我们稍后会更详细解释这条规则。

  6. iptables -P INPUT DROP 这个 -P 选项设置某条规则链上的缺省政策。我们现在可以将 INPUT 链的缺省政策改为 DROP。意思就是,不符合任何一条规则的对内封包将会被丢弃。要是我们通过 SSH 远程连接而没有加入上一条规则,此刻我们便会被封锁于系统之外。

  7. iptables -P FORWARD DROP 同样地,在这里我们将 FORWARD 链的缺省政策设为 DROP,因为我们并不是用计算机作为路由器,所以理应没有任何封包路经它。

  8. iptables -P OUTPUT ACCEPT 而最后,我们将 OUTPUT 链的缺省政策设为 ACCEPT,因为我们想容许所有对外的流量(由于我们信任我们的用户)。

  9. iptables -L -v 最后,我们可以列出(-L)刚加入的规则,并检查它们是否被正确地装入。

我们需要做的最后一件事情,就是存储我们的规则,好让它们在下次开机时会自动被重新装入:

# /sbin/service iptables save

这样做会执行 iptables 的 init 脚本,它会执行 /sbin/iptables-save 并将现有的 iptables 设置写进 /etc/sysconfig/iptables。开机时,iptables 的 init 脚本会通过 /sbin/iptables-restore 这个指令重新实施存储在 /etc/sysconfig/iptables 内的规则。

很明显的,在指令壳内输入这堆指令会颇乏味,因此运用 iptables 的最简易方法就是创建一个代你做以上一切的脚本。你可以将上面的指令输入到你喜欢的文字编辑器内并存储为 myfirewall,例如:

#!/bin/bash
#
# iptables 样例设置脚本
#
# 清除 iptables 内一切现存的规则
#
 iptables -F
#
# 容让 SSH 连接到 tcp 端口 22
# 当通过 SSH 远程连接到服务器,你必须这样做才能群免被封锁于系统外
#
 iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -j ACCEPT
#
# 设置 INPUT、FORWARD、及 OUTPUT 链的缺省政策
#
 iptables -P INPUT DROP
 iptables -P FORWARD DROP
 iptables -P OUTPUT ACCEPT
#
# 设置 localhost 的访问权
#
 iptables -A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT
#
# 接纳属于现存及相关连接的封包
#
 iptables -A INPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT
#
# 存储设置
#
 /sbin/service iptables save
#
# 列出规则
#
 iptables -L -v

注: 我们可以在脚本内加入注释来提醒自己正在做什么。

现在令脚本可以被执行:

# chmod +x myfirewall

我们现在可以编辑这个脚本,并在指令壳内用以下指令来执行它:

# ./myfirewall

4. 界面

在上一个范本中,我们看见如何能接纳所有来自某个界面的封包,也就是 localhost 界面:

iptables -A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT

假设我们现在有两个独立的网络界面,分别是将我们连接到内部网络的 eth0 及连接到外部互联网的 ppp0 拨号调制解调器(或者 eth1 适配器)。我们或许会想接纳所有来自内部网络的对内封包,但依然过滤那些来自互联网的封包。我们可以这样做:

iptables -A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT
iptables -A INPUT -i eth0 -j ACCEPT

让特别留意 —— 假如你接纳来自互联网界面(例如 ppp0 拨号调制解调器)的所有封包:

iptables -A INPUT -i ppp0 -j ACCEPT

你便等同于停用了我们的防火墙!

5. IP 地址

将整个界面开放给对内的封包也许不够严谨,而你想拥有更多控制权来决定接纳什么及拒绝什么。现在假设我们拥有一群采用 192.168.0.x 私人网络的计算机。我们可以打开防火墙给来自某个被信任 IP 地址(例如 192.168.0.4)的对内封包:

# 接纳来自被信任 IP 地址的封包
 iptables -A INPUT -s 192.168.0.4 -j ACCEPT # change the IP address as appropriate

将这个指令分解,我们首先附加(-A)一条规则到 INPUT 链,指明来源(-s)IP 地址是 192.168.0.4 的封包都应该被接纳(ACCEPT)(请亦留意我们如何利用 # 符号来解释我们的脚本,因为 # 之后的所有文字都会被视为注释)。

当然,如果我们想接纳来自一系列 IP 地址的封包,我们可以为每个被位任的 IP 地址加入一条规则,而这样做的确是可行的。但是假如它们的数量很多,一次过加入一系列 IP 地址会比较简单。要这样做,我们可以利用一个子网掩码或标准的斜线记法来指定 IP 地址的范围。举个例说,如果我们想将防火墙开放给来自整个 192.168.0.x(当中 x=1 到 254)范围的封包,我们可以用下面其中一个方法来达致目的:

# 接纳来自被信任 IP 地址的封包
 iptables -A INPUT -s 192.168.0.0/24 -j ACCEPT  # using standard slash notation
 iptables -A INPUT -s 192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0 -j ACCEPT # using a subnet mask

最后,除了过滤单一的 IP 地址外,我们亦可以配对该设备的 MAC 地址。要这应做,我们需要装入一个容许过滤 MAC 地址的模块(mac 模块)。较早前当我们用 state 模块来配对 ESTABLISHED 及 RELATED 封包时,我们看见模块扩展 iptables 功能的例子。在这里我们除了检查封包的 IP 地址外,更利用 mac 模块来检查来源地的 MAC 地址:

# 接纳来自被信任 IP 地址的封包
 iptables -A INPUT -s 192.168.0.4 -m mac --mac-source 00:50:8D:FD:E6:32 -j ACCEPT

首先我们用 -m mac 来装入 mac 模块,然后我们用 --mac-source 来指定来源 IP 地址(192.168.0.4)的 MAC 地址。你要为每个需要过滤的以太网设备找出 mac 地址。以 root 的身份执行 ifconfig(无线设备用 iwconfig)可以将 mac 地址告诉你。

这样可防止来源地的 IP 地址被伪装,因为只有真正源于 192.168.0.4(MAC 地址是 00:50:8D:5D:E6:32)的封包才会被接纳,而所有假扮源于该地址的封包都会被拦截。请注意,过滤 MAC 地址在互联网上不能使用,却绝对能正确地在本地网络里运作。

6. 端口及协议

由上面我们看见如何将新增规则在防火墙内,用来过滤符合某个界面或来源 IP 地址的封包。 这样做让我们能经过防火墙访问某些被信任的来源(主机)。现在我们看看如何过滤协议及端口,好叫我们能进一步区别要接纳及拦截那些对内的封包。

在我们开始之先,我们须要知道个别服务所使用的协议及端口编号。让我们以 bittorrent 作为一个简单的样例。bittorrent 在 6881 端口上采用 tcp 协议,因此我们需要容许所有以 6881 为目标端口(它们到逹时所用的端口)的 tcp 封包。

# 接纳目标端口是 6881 号(bittorrent)的 tcp 封包
 iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 6881 -j ACCEPT

在这里我们附加(-A)一条规则到 INPUT 链,配对 tcp 协议(-p tcp)及从 6881 目标端口进入我们的机器(--dport 6881)。

注: 要配对目标或来源端口(--dport--sport),你必须先指定协议(tcp、udp、icmp、all)。

我们亦可以扩展以上的样例来包含一系列的端口,例如,接纳 6881 至 6890 端口上的所有 tcp 封包:

# 接纳目标端口是 6881-6890 号的 tcp 封包
 iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 6881:6890 -j ACCEPT

7. 融会贯通

既然我们已经有基本认识,现在便可以合并这些规则。

UNIX/Linux 上一个受欢迎的服务就是容许远程登录的 SSH 服务。SSH 缺省使用 22 号端口及采用 tcp 协议。因此假若我们想允许远程登录,我们需要容许 tcp 连接到 22 号端口:

# 接纳目标端口是 22 号(SSH)的 tcp 封包
 iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -j ACCEPT

这样做会开放 22 号端口(SSH)给所有对内的 tcp 连接,却会构成潜在的安全性威胁,因为骇客可以强行破入使用易猜测口令的户口。然而,假若我们知道那些通过 SSH 作远程登录的可信任机器的 IP 地址,我们便可以将访问权限制到那些来源 IP 地址。举个例说,如果我们只想将 SSH 的访问权开放给我们的私人网络(192.168.0.x),我们可以将来源 IP 地址限制在这个范围:

# 接纳来自私人网络,目标端口是 22 号(SSH)的 tcp 封包
 iptables -A INPUT -p tcp -s 192.168.0.0/24 --dport 22 -j ACCEPT

利用来源 IP 进行过滤容让我们能安全地开放 22 号端口上的 SSH 给可信任的 IP 地址来访问。举个例说,我们可以用这个方法允许工作与家用机器之间的登录。对于其它 IP 地址来说,这个端口(与及服务)就好像了关闭了一样,而服务亦依被停用,因此扫描端口的骇客多数会略过我们。

8. 总结

这里只是很初步地介绍 iptables 可以做的事情,但我希望这份教学文档提供了一个良好的基础,帮助各位创建更复杂的规则集。

9. 连结

http://www.centos.org/docs/5/html/Deployment_Guide-en-US/ch-fw.html

http://www.centos.org/docs/5/html/Deployment_Guide-en-US/ch-iptables.html

Translation of revision 35

zh/HowTos/Network/IPTables (last edited 2012-06-21 10:47:53 by TimothyLee)

IPTables

1. Introduction

CentOS has an extremely powerful firewall built in, commonly referred to as iptables, but more accurately is iptables/netfilter. Iptables is the userspace module, the bit that you, the user, interact with at the command line to enter firewall rules into predefined tables. Netfilter is a kernel module, built into the kernel, that actually does the filtering. There are many GUI front ends for iptables that allow users to add or define rules based on a point and click user interface, but these often lack the flexibility of using the command line interface and limit the users understanding of what's really happening. We're going to learn the command line interface of iptables.

Before we can really get to grips with iptables, we need to have at least a basic understanding of the way it works. Iptables uses the concept of IP addresses, protocols (tcp, udp, icmp) and ports. We don't need to be experts in these to get started (as we can look up any of the information we need), but it helps to have a general understanding.

Iptables places rules into predefined chains (INPUT, OUTPUT and FORWARD) that are checked against any network traffic (IP packets) relevant to those chains and a decision is made about what to do with each packet based upon the outcome of those rules, i.e. accepting or dropping the packet. These actions are referred to as targets, of which the two most common predefined targets are DROP to drop a packet or ACCEPT to accept a packet.

Chains

These are 3 predefined chains in the filter table to which we can add rules for processing IP packets passing through those chains. These chains are:

For the most part, we are going to be dealing with the INPUT chain to filter packets entering our machine - that is, keeping the bad guys out.

Rules are added in a list to each chain. A packet is checked against each rule in turn, starting at the top, and if it matches that rule, then an action is taken such as accepting (ACCEPT) or dropping (DROP) the packet. Once a rule has been matched and an action taken, then the packet is processed according to the outcome of that rule and isn't processed by further rules in the chain. If a packet passes down through all the rules in the chain and reaches the bottom without being matched against any rule, then the default action for that chain is taken. This is referred to as the default policy and may be set to either ACCEPT or DROP the packet.

The concept of default policies within chains raises two fundamental possibilities that we must first consider before we decide how we are going to organize our firewall.

1. We can set a default policy to DROP all packets and then add rules to specifically allow (ACCEPT) packets that may be from trusted IP addresses, or for certain ports on which we have services running such as bittorrent, FTP server, Web Server, Samba file server etc.

or alternatively,

2. We can set a default policy to ACCEPT all packets and then add rules to specifically block (DROP) packets that may be from specific nuisance IP addresses or ranges, or for certain ports on which we have private services or no services running.

Generally, option 1 above is used for the INPUT chain where we want to control what is allowed to access our machine and option 2 would be used for the OUTPUT chain where we generally trust the traffic that is leaving (originating from) our machine.

2. Getting Started

Working with iptables from the command line requires root privileges, so you will need to become root for most things we will be doing.

IMPORTANT: We will be turning off iptables and resetting your firewall rules, so if you are reliant on your Linux firewall as your primary line of defense you should be aware of this.

Iptables should be installed by default on all CentOS 5.x and 6.x installations. You can check to see if iptables is installed on your system by:

$ rpm -q iptables
iptables-1.4.7-5.1.el6_2.x86_64

And to see if iptables is actually running, we can check that the iptables modules are loaded and use the -L switch to inspect the currently loaded rules:

# lsmod | grep ip_tables
ip_tables              29288  1 iptable_filter
x_tables               29192  6 ip6t_REJECT,ip6_tables,ipt_REJECT,xt_state,xt_tcpudp,ip_tables

# iptables -L
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination         
ACCEPT     all  --  anywhere             anywhere            state RELATED,ESTABLISHED 
ACCEPT     icmp --  anywhere             anywhere            
ACCEPT     all  --  anywhere             anywhere            
ACCEPT     tcp  --  anywhere             anywhere            state NEW tcp dpt:ssh 
REJECT     all  --  anywhere             anywhere            reject-with icmp-host-prohibited 

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination         
REJECT     all  --  anywhere             anywhere            reject-with icmp-host-prohibited 

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination         

Above we see the default set of rules on a CentOS 6 system. Note that SSH service is permitted by default.

If iptables is not running, you can enable it by running:

# system-config-securitylevel

3. Writing a Simple Rule Set

IMPORTANT: At this point we are going to clear the default rule set. If you are connecting remotely to a server via SSH for this tutorial then there is a very real possibility that you could lock yourself out of your machine. You must set the default input policy to accept before flushing the current rules, and then add a rule at the start to explicitly allow yourself access to prevent against locking yourself out.

We will use an example based approach to examine the various iptables commands. In this first example, we will create a very simple set of rules to set up a Stateful Packet Inspection (SPI) firewall that will allow all outgoing connections but block all unwanted incoming connections:

# iptables -P INPUT ACCEPT
# iptables -F
# iptables -A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT
# iptables -A INPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT
# iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -j ACCEPT
# iptables -P INPUT DROP
# iptables -P FORWARD DROP
# iptables -P OUTPUT ACCEPT
# iptables -L -v

which should give the following output:

Chain INPUT (policy DROP 0 packets, 0 bytes)
 pkts bytes target     prot opt in     out     source               destination
    0     0 ACCEPT     all  --  lo     any     anywhere             anywhere
    0     0 ACCEPT     all  --  any    any     anywhere             anywhere            state RELATED,ESTABLISHED
    0     0 ACCEPT     tcp  --  any    any     anywhere             anywhere            tcp dpt:ssh
Chain FORWARD (policy DROP 0 packets, 0 bytes)
 pkts bytes target     prot opt in     out     source               destination
Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT 0 packets, 0 bytes)
 pkts bytes target     prot opt in     out     source               destination

Now lets look at each of the 8 commands above in turn and understand exactly what we've just done:

  1. iptables -P INPUT ACCEPT If connecting remotely we must first temporarily set the default policy on the INPUT chain to ACCEPT otherwise once we flush the current rules we will be locked out of our server.

  2. iptables -F We used the -F switch to flush all existing rules so we start with a clean state from which to add new rules.

  3. iptables -A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT Now it's time to start adding some rules. We use the -A switch to append (or add) a rule to a specific chain, the INPUT chain in this instance. Then we use the -i switch (for interface) to specify packets matching or destined for the lo (localhost, 127.0.0.1) interface and finally -j (jump) to the target action for packets matching the rule - in this case ACCEPT. So this rule will allow all incoming packets destined for the localhost interface to be accepted. This is generally required as many software applications expect to be able to communicate with the localhost adaptor.

  4. iptables -A INPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT This is the rule that does most of the work, and again we are adding (-A) it to the INPUT chain. Here we're using the -m switch to load a module (state). The state module is able to examine the state of a packet and determine if it is NEW, ESTABLISHED or RELATED. NEW refers to incoming packets that are new incoming connections that weren't initiated by the host system. ESTABLISHED and RELATED refers to incoming packets that are part of an already established connection or related to and already established connection.

  5. iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -j ACCEPT Here we add a rule allowing SSH connections over tcp port 22. This is to prevent accidental lockouts when working on remote systems over an SSH connection. We will explain this rule in more detail later.

  6. iptables -P INPUT DROP The -P switch sets the default policy on the specified chain. So now we can set the default policy on the INPUT chain to DROP. This means that if an incoming packet does not match one of the following rules it will be dropped. If we were connecting remotely via SSH and had not added the rule above, we would have just locked ourself out of the system at this point.

  7. iptables -P FORWARD DROP Similarly, here we've set the default policy on the FORWARD chain to DROP as we're not using our computer as a router so there should not be any packets passing through our computer.

  8. iptables -P OUTPUT ACCEPT and finally, we've set the default policy on the OUTPUT chain to ACCEPT as we want to allow all outgoing traffic (as we trust our users).

  9. iptables -L -v Finally, we can list (-L) the rules we've just added to check they've been loaded correctly.

Finally, the last thing we need to do is save our rules so that next time we reboot our computer our rules are automatically reloaded:

# /sbin/service iptables save

This executes the iptables init script, which runs /sbin/iptables-save and writes the current iptables configuration to /etc/sysconfig/iptables. Upon reboot, the iptables init script reapplies the rules saved in /etc/sysconfig/iptables by using the /sbin/iptables-restore command.

Obviously typing all these commands at the shell can become tedious, so by far the easiest way to work with iptables is to create a simple script to do it all for you. The above commands may be entered into your favourite text editor and saved as myfirewall, for example:

#!/bin/bash
#
# iptables example configuration script
#
# Flush all current rules from iptables
#
 iptables -F
#
# Allow SSH connections on tcp port 22
# This is essential when working on remote servers via SSH to prevent locking yourself out of the system
#
 iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -j ACCEPT
#
# Set default policies for INPUT, FORWARD and OUTPUT chains
#
 iptables -P INPUT DROP
 iptables -P FORWARD DROP
 iptables -P OUTPUT ACCEPT
#
# Set access for localhost
#
 iptables -A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT
#
# Accept packets belonging to established and related connections
#
 iptables -A INPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT
#
# Save settings
#
 /sbin/service iptables save
#
# List rules
#
 iptables -L -v

Note: We can also comment our script to remind us what were doing.

now make the script executable:

# chmod +x myfirewall

We can now simply edit our script and run it from the shell with the following command:

# ./myfirewall

4. Interfaces

In our previous example, we saw how we could accept all packets incoming on a particular interface, in this case the localhost interface:

iptables -A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT

Suppose we have 2 separate interfaces, eth0 which is our internal LAN connection and ppp0 dialup modem (or maybe eth1 for a nic) which is our external internet connection. We may want to allow all incoming packets on our internal LAN but still filter incoming packets on our external internet connection. We could do this as follows:

iptables -A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT
iptables -A INPUT -i eth0 -j ACCEPT

But be very careful - if we were to allow all packets for our external internet interface (for example, ppp0 dialup modem):

iptables -A INPUT -i ppp0 -j ACCEPT

we would have effectively just disabled our firewall!

5. IP Addresses

Opening up a whole interface to incoming packets may not be restrictive enough and you may want more control as to what to allow and what to reject. Lets suppose we have a small network of computers that use the 192.168.0.x private subnet. We can open up our firewall to incoming packets from a single trusted IP address (for example, 192.168.0.4):

# Accept packets from trusted IP addresses
 iptables -A INPUT -s 192.168.0.4 -j ACCEPT # change the IP address as appropriate

Breaking this command down, we first append (-A) a rule to the INPUT chain for the source (-s) IP address 192.168.0.4 to ACCEPT all packets (also note how we can use the # symbol to add comments inline to document our script with anything after the # being ignored and treated as a comment).

Obviously if we want to allow incoming packets from a range of IP addresses, we could simply add a rule for each trusted IP address and that would work fine. But if we have a lot of them, it may be easier to add a range of IP addresses in one go. To do this, we can use a netmask or standard slash notation to specify a range of IP address. For example, if we wanted to open our firewall to all incoming packets from the complete 192.168.0.x (where x=1 to 254) range, we could use either of the following methods:

# Accept packets from trusted IP addresses
 iptables -A INPUT -s 192.168.0.0/24 -j ACCEPT  # using standard slash notation
 iptables -A INPUT -s 192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0 -j ACCEPT # using a subnet mask

Finally, as well as filtering against a single IP address, we can also match against the MAC address for the given device. To do this, we need to load a module (the mac module) that allows filtering against mac addresses. Earlier we saw another example of using modules to extend the functionality of iptables when we used the state module to match for ESTABLISHED and RELATED packets. Here we use the mac module to check the mac address of the source of the packet in addition to it's IP address:

# Accept packets from trusted IP addresses
 iptables -A INPUT -s 192.168.0.4 -m mac --mac-source 00:50:8D:FD:E6:32 -j ACCEPT

First we use -m mac to load the mac module and then we use --mac-source to specify the mac address of the source IP address (192.168.0.4). You will need to find out the mac address of each ethernet device you wish to filter against. Running ifconfig (or iwconfig for wireless devices) as root will provide you with the mac address.

This may be useful for preventing spoofing of the source IP address as it will allow any packets that genuinely originate from 192.168.0.4 (having the mac address 00:50:8D:FD:E6:32) but will block any packets that are spoofed to have come from that address. Note, mac address filtering won't work across the internet but it certainly works fine on a LAN.

6. Ports and Protocols

Above we have seen how we can add rules to our firewall to filter against packets matching a particular interface or a source IP address. This allows full access through our firewall to certain trusted sources (host PCs). Now we'll look at how we can filter against protocols and ports to further refine what incoming packets we allow and what we block.

Before we can begin, we need to know what protocol and port number a given service uses. For a simple example, lets look at bittorrent. Bittorrent uses the tcp protocol on port 6881, so we would need to allow all tcp packets on destination port (the port on which they arrive at our machine) 6881:

# Accept tcp packets on destination port 6881 (bittorrent)
 iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 6881 -j ACCEPT

Here we append (-A) a rule to the INPUT chain for packets matching the tcp protocol (-p tcp) and entering our machine on destination port 6881 (--dport 6881).

Note: In order to use matches such as destination or source ports (--dport or --sport), you must first specify the protocol (tcp, udp, icmp, all).

We can also extend the above to include a port range, for example, allowing all tcp packets on the range 6881 to 6890:

# Accept tcp packets on destination ports 6881-6890
 iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 6881:6890 -j ACCEPT

7. Putting It All Together

Now we've seen the basics, we can start combining these rules.

A popular UNIX/Linux service is the secure shell (SSH) service allowing remote logins. By default SSH uses port 22 and again uses the tcp protocol. So if we want to allow remote logins, we would need to allow tcp connections on port 22:

# Accept tcp packets on destination port 22 (SSH)
 iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -j ACCEPT

This will open up port 22 (SSH) to all incoming tcp connections which poses a potential security threat as hackers could try brute force cracking on accounts with weak passwords. However, if we know the IP addresses of trusted remote machines that will be used to log on using SSH, we can limit access to only these source IP addresses. For example, if we just wanted to open up SSH access on our private lan (192.168.0.x), we can limit access to just this source IP address range:

# Accept tcp packets on destination port 22 (SSH) from private LAN
 iptables -A INPUT -p tcp -s 192.168.0.0/24 --dport 22 -j ACCEPT

Using source IP filtering allows us to securely open up SSH access on port 22 to only trusted IP addresses. For example, we could use this method to allow remote logins between work and home machines. To all other IP addresses, the port (and service) would appear closed as if the service were disabled so hackers using port scanning methods are likely to pass us by.

8. Summary

We've barely scratched the surface of what can be achieved with iptables, but hopefully this HOWTO has provided a good grounding in the basics from which one may build more complicated rule sets.

9. Links

http://www.centos.org/docs/5/html/Deployment_Guide-en-US/ch-fw.html

http://www.centos.org/docs/5/html/Deployment_Guide-en-US/ch-iptables.html

http://ip2location.com/free/visitor-blocker - for blocking certain countries according to their IP address

HowTos/Network/IPTables (last edited 2014-09-11 16:21:54 by ChristophGaluschka)