保卫 OpenSSH

OpenSSH(或者 Secure Shell)以经成为一个取代 telnet 协议作远程访问用的现有标准。SSH 已经令 telnet 等协议多余的,当中绝大部份原因是由于连接被加密,以及不再以纯文本公开地传送口令。

然而,缺省的 ssh 安装并非完美。当你营运一个 ssh 服务器时,有数个简单的步骤可以明显地加固你的安装。

1. 采用难猜测的口令/用户名称

如果你所营运的 ssh 是对外的,你首先会发现的事情,很可能就是骇客尝试猜测用户名称/口令的记录。骇客一般会扫描端口 22(ssh 缺省聆听的端口)来找寻执行 ssh 的机器,然后尝试强行攻击它。借着使用难猜测的口令,我们希望任何攻击在成功前会被记录底及被留意到。

盼望你已经采用了难猜测的口令。要不然,请尝试选拥有以下特征的口令:

使用难测口令的好处并不止于 ssh,它更会影响到系统安全的各个范畴。有关口令的更多信息可以在 CentOS 的文档内找到:

http://www.centos.org/docs/4/html/rhel-sg-en-4/s1-wstation-pass.html

如果你完全没法阻止你的用户选用易猜测的口令,请考虑以随机产生或难猜测的符串作为用户名称。如果坏人不能猜测用户名称,他们便不能强加猜测口令。然而,这只是隐晦信息来换取安全,所以要留心用户名称通过用户发送的电邮等途径而被泄漏。

2. 停用 root 登录

SSH 服务器的设置都存储在 /etc/ssh/sshd_confg 这个文件。要停用 root 登录,请确定你有以下一行:

# 阻止 root 登录:
PermitRootLogin no

然后请重新引导 sshd 服务:

service sshd restart

你果你需要 root 的权限,请登录为一般用户,然后使用 su 这个指令。

3. 限制用户登录

SSH 登录可以局限给某些需要远程访问的用户。如果你的系统有很多用户,一个合理的做法就是局限远程访问给那真正有需要的用户,藉以减低其它用户采用易测口令的影响。在 /etc/ssh/sshd_config 内加入 AllowUsers 一行,以空格隔开用户名称。例如:

AllowUsers alice bob

接着请重新引导 sshd 服务。

4. 停用第 1 类协议

SSH 可以采用两款协议:第 1 类及第 2 类协议。较旧的第 1 类协议的安全性较低,因此它应该被停用,除非你知道你必须要使用它。请在 /etc/ssh/sshd_config 档内找寻以下一行,解除注释,并作出如下修改:

# Protocol 2,1
Protocol 2

然后请重新引导 sshd 服务。

5. 采用非标准的端口

根据缺省值,ssh 在端口 22 聆听进入的连接。一个骇客如果要断定 ssh 是否在你的机器上运行,他最大可能就是扫描端口 22。一个有效混淆他的方法就是在非标准的端口上运行 ssh。任何未被使用的端口都可行,但首选的是 1024 以上的。很多人选用 2222 作为替换的端口(它很易记),正如 8080 经常被用作 HTTP 的替换端口。正正由于这个原因令它不是个好的选择,因为任何扫描端口 22 的骇客亦不会放过端口 2222。随机地选用一个未被使用的高位端口会比较合宜。要进行改动,请在你的 /etc/ssh/sshd_config 档内加入以下一行:

# 在非标准的端口上执行 ssh:
Port 2345  #修改我

然后重新引导 sshd 服务。请勿忘记在你的路由器及相关的防火墙规则里作出任何必要的改动。譬如在 CentOS 7 你需要更改 firewalld:

$ firewall-cmd --add-port 2345/tcp
$ firewall-cmd --add-port 2345/tcp –permanent

又或者在 CentOS 6:

$ iptables -I INPUT -p tcp --dport 2345 -j ACCEPT

在 CentOS 6 及以上版本,你亦需要更新 selinux,并正确地标签所选用的端口,否则 sshd 便不能访问它。举个例说:

$ semanage port -a -t ssh_port_t -p tcp 2345 #请更改这处 

因为 ssh 不再在标准的端口上聆听连接,你须要告诉客户端要连接到哪个端口。在命令行上执行 ssh 客户端时,你可以用 -p 选项来指定端口:

$ ssh -p 2345 myserver

又或者如果你使用 konqueror 的 fish 协议,你可用:

fish://myserver:2345/remote/dir

如果你觉得每次连接时都要指定端口似乎很痛苦,你只需在你个人的 ~/.ssh/config 文件里加入一个指定端口的记录:

 # 客户端 ~/.ssh/config
Host myserver
HostName 72.232.194.162
        User bob
        Port 2345

~/.ssh/config 必须有以下访问权:

$ chmod 600 ~/.ssh/config

6. 在防火墙过滤 SSH

如果你只须由一个 IP 地址进行远程访问(例如由办工室进入家中的服务器),请考虑在你的路由器或 iptables 内加入一条防火墙的规则,将端口 22 的访问权限制到特定的 IP 地址,藉此对连接进行过滤。举个例说,在 iptables 内你可以用这类型的规则达至这个目的:

iptables -A INPUT -p tcp -s 72.232.194.162 --dport 22 -j ACCEPT

SSH 亦对 TCP 包装函式有内置支持,因此 ssh 服务的访问权亦可同时用 host.allow 及 hosts.deny 来进行管制。

如果你不能限制来源地的 IP 地址,而必须公开 ssh 端口,那么 iptables 依然可以通过记录及拦截来自同一 IP 地址的重复登录尝试,帮助你阻止强行的攻击。例如:

iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -m state --state NEW -m recent --set --name ssh --rsource
iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -m state --state NEW -m recent ! --rcheck --seconds 60 --hitcount 4 --name ssh --rsource -j ACCEPT

第一条规则利用 recent 模块来记录每个访问端口 22 的新尝试。第二条规则检查这个 IP 地址在过去 60 秒内有否尝试 4 次或以上的连接,若然没有更接纳封包。注意这个规则须要输入链采用 DROP 的缺省政策。

如果你在非标准的端口上执行 ssh,请不要忘记对端口作出相应修改。情况许可的话,利用防火墙进行过滤是一个非常有效的方法来保卫 ssh 服务器。

采用 FirewallD 服务的系统,可执行下列 firewall-cmd:

firewall-cmd --permanent --direct --add-rule ipv4 filter INPUT_direct 0 -p tcp --dport 22 -m state --state NEW -m recent --set
firewall-cmd --permanent --direct --add-rule ipv4 filter INPUT_direct 1 -p tcp --dport 22 -m state --state NEW -m recent --update --seconds 30 --hitcount 4 -j REJECT --reject-with tcp-reset
firewall-cmd --reload 

7. 采用公钥/私钥来验证

采用加密金钥来验证提供两大好处。首先,如果你应用公钥/私钥,是方便,因为你不用再输入口令(除非你用口令来保护你的金钥)。第二,当服务器能进行金钥对的验证,你便可以完全停用口令验证,意即访问时靠赖授权的金钥 —— 因此不再有猜测口令的尝试。

创建及在你的 ssh 服务器上安装金钥对是个相对地简单的过程。

首先,在你会用来连接到服务器的客户端上创建一对金钥(你须要在每台用来连接的机器上这样做):

$ ssh-keygen -t rsa

这样做会在你的(隐藏了的)~/.ssh 目录内置立两个文件,名叫:id_rsaid_rsa.pub。第一个文件:id_rsa 是你的私钥,而另一个:id_rsa.pub 是你的公钥。

如果你不想每次连接时都被问及密码(它是用来解开特定的公钥),在创建金钥对的时候,你只须按 enter 作为密码。创建金钥对时,是否以密码加密纯粹是你的决定。如何你不将金钥加密,任何人夺得你的本地机器后,便自动拥有远程服务器的 ssh 访问权。此外,本地机器上的 root 能够访问你的金钥:但假若你不能信任 root(或者 root 已被攻占),你已经大祸临头。将金钥加密舍弃了不用密码的 ssh 服务器,来换取额外的安全,得来的就是输入密码来使用这条金钥。你可利用 ssh_agent 这个程序进一步简化这个程序。

现在为你的私钥设置权限:

$ chmod 700 ~/.ssh
$ chmod 600 ~/.ssh/id_rsa 

请将公钥(id_rsa.pub)复制到服务器上,然后安装它在 authorized_keys 清单内:

$ cat id_rsa.pub >> ~/.ssh/authorized_keys

注:一旦你输入了公钥,你可以在服务器上删除它。

最后,设置服务器上的文件权限:

$ chmod 700 ~/.ssh
$ chmod 600 ~/.ssh/authorized_keys

如果 /etc/ssh/sshd_config 内的 StrictModes 被启用(缺省值),以上的权限是必须的

请确保你已设置正确的 SELinux 脉络:

$ restorecon -Rv ~/.ssh 

现在当你登录服务器的时候,你便不用再输入口令(除非你在创建金钥对的时候输入了一个口令)。ssh 缺省是会先利用金钥进行验证。如何它找不到金钥,或验证失败,ssh 会回落到平常的口令验证。

一旦你检查过可以用金钥对来登录服务器,你可以在你的 /etc/ssh/sshd_conf 档内加入以下设置来停用口令验证:

# 停用口令验证,强制使用金钥
PasswordAuthentication no

8. 常见问题(FAQ)

问:CentOS 采用 X 版的 OpenSSH,而最新版本是 Y 版。X 版藏有一个严重的安全性漏洞,我应否升级?

答:不应该。上游供应者有一个政策,会将最新版本的安全性修正反向移植到现有的发行版本内。只要你拥有最新的更新,你的 CentOS 发行版本已经得到全面修正。有关反向移植安全性修正的详情,请参阅这里:

http://www.redhat.com/advice/speaks_backport.html

问:我如何令 ssh 容让以 NFS 共享用户主目录的机器采用无密码的验证?

答:SELinux 预设拦阻 root 存取以 NFS 共享、非公用的目录及档案,因此 ssh 无法读取 ~/.ssh 内的用户金钥档。若要批准存取权,请用以下指令更改 use_nfs_home_dirs 的设定值:

setsebool -P use_nfs_home_dirs 1 

https://www.centos.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=49194

9. 连结

http://www.centos.org/docs/5/html/Deployment_Guide-en-US/ch-openssh.html

http://www.dragonresearchgroup.org/insight/sshpwauth-tac.html

Translation of revision 51

zh/HowTos/Network/SecuringSSH (last edited 2017-11-07 08:48:46 by TimothyLee)

Securing OpenSSH

OpenSSH (or Secure SHell) has become a de facto standard for remote access replacing the telnet protocol. SSH has made protocols such as telnet redundant due, in most part, to the fact that the connection is encrypted and passwords are no longer sent in plain text for all to see.

However, a default installation of ssh isn't perfect, and when running an ssh server there are a few simple steps that can dramatically harden an installation.

1. Use Strong Passwords/Usernames

One of the first things you'll notice if you have ssh running and exposed to the outside world is that you'll probably log attempts by hackers to guess your username/password. Typically a hacker will scan for port 22 (the default port on which ssh listens) to find machines with ssh running, and then attempt a brute-force attack against it. With strong passwords in place, hopefully any attack will be logged and noticed before it can succeed.

Hopefully you already use strong passwords, but if you are not then try to choose passwords that contains:

The benefits of strong passwords aren't specific to ssh, but have an impact on all aspects of systems security. Further information on passwords can be found in the CentOS documentation:

http://www.centos.org/docs/4/html/rhel-sg-en-4/s1-wstation-pass.html

If you absolutely can't prevent your users choosing weak passwords, then consider using randomly generated or difficult to guess usernames for your user accounts. If the bad guys can't guess the username then they can't brute force the password. However, this is still security through obscurity and be aware of information leakage of usernames from things such as email sent from user accounts.

2. Disable Root Logins

SSH server settings are stored in the /etc/ssh/sshd_config file. To disable root logins, make sure you have the following entry:

# Prevent root logins:
PermitRootLogin no

and restart the sshd service:

service sshd restart

If you need root access, login as a normal user and use the su command.

3. Limit User Logins

SSH logins can be limited to only certain users who need remote access. If you have many user accounts on the system then it makes sense to limit remote access to only those that really need it thus limiting the impact of a casual user having a weak password. Add an AllowUsers line followed by a space separated list of usernames to /etc/ssh/sshd_config For example:

AllowUsers alice bob

and restart the sshd service.

4. Disable Protocol 1

SSH has two protocols it may use, protocol 1 and protocol 2. The older protocol 1 is less secure and should be disabled unless you know that you specifically require it. Look for the following line in the /etc/ssh/sshd_config file, uncomment it and amend as shown:

# Protocol 2,1
Protocol 2

and restart the sshd service.

5. Use a Non-Standard Port

By default, ssh listens for incoming connections on port 22. For a hacker to determine ssh is running on your machine, he'll most likely scan port 22 to determine this. An effective method is to run ssh on a non-standard port. Any unused port will do, although one above 1024 is preferable. Many people choose 2222 as an alternative port (as it's easy to remember), just as 8080 is often known as the alternative HTTP port. For this very reason, it's probably not the best choice, as any hacker scanning port 22 will likely also be scanning port 2222 just for good measure. It's better to pick some random high port that's not used for any known services. To make the change, add a line like this to your /etc/ssh/sshd_config file:

# Run ssh on a non-standard port:
Port 2345  #Change me

and restart the sshd service. Don't forget to then make any necessary changes to port forwarding in your router and any applicable firewall rules.

On CentOS 6 and above you should also update selinux, labeling the chosen port correctly, otherwise sshd will be prevented from accessing it. For example:

$ semanage port -a -t ssh_port_t -p tcp 2345 #Change me 

Because ssh is no longer listening for connections on the standard port, you will need to tell your client what port to connect on. Using the ssh client from the command line, we may specify the port using the -p switch:

$ ssh -p 2345 myserver

or if you are using the fish protocol in konqueror, for example:

fish://myserver:2345/remote/dir

If you are thinking that this sounds like a pain having to specify the port each time you connect, simply add an entry specifying the port in your local ~/.ssh/config file:

 # Client ~/.ssh/config
Host myserver
HostName 72.232.194.162
        User bob
        Port 2345

And the file: ~/.ssh/config must have the following permissions:

$ chmod 600 ~/.ssh/config

6. Filter SSH at the Firewall

If you only need remote access from one IP address (say from work to your home server), then consider filtering connections at your firewall by either adding a firewall rule on your router or in iptables to limit access on port 22 to only that specific IP address. For example, in iptables this could be achieved with the following type of rule:

iptables -A INPUT -p tcp -s 72.232.194.162 --dport 22 -j ACCEPT

SSH also natively supports TCP wrappers and access to the ssh service may be similarly controlled using hosts.allow and hosts.deny.

If you are unable to limit source IP addresses, and must open the ssh port globally, then iptables can still help prevent brute-force attacks by logging and blocking repeated attempts to login from the same IP address. For example,

iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -m state --state NEW -m recent --set --name ssh --rsource
iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -m state --state NEW -m recent ! --rcheck --seconds 60 --hitcount 4 --name ssh --rsource -j ACCEPT

The first rule records the IP address of each new attempt to access port 22 using the recent module. The second rule checks to see if that IP address has attempted to connect 4 or more times within the last 60 seconds, and if not then the packet is accepted. Note this rule would require a default policy of DROP on the input chain.

Don't forget to change the port as appropriate if you are running ssh on a non-standard port. Where possible, filtering at the firewall is an extremely effective method of securing access to an ssh server.

7. Use Public/Private Keys for Authentication

Using encrypted keys for authentication offers two main benefits. Firstly, it is convenient as you no longer need to enter a password (unless you encrypt your keys with password protection) if you use public/private keys. Secondly, once public/private key pair authentication has been set up on the server, you can disable password authentication completely meaning that without an authorized key you can't gain access - so no more password cracking attempts.

It's a relatively simple process to create a public/private key pair and install them for use on your ssh server.

First, create a public/private key pair on the client that you will use to connect to the server (you will need to do this from each client machine from which you connect):

$ ssh-keygen -t rsa

This will create two files in your (hidden) ~/.ssh directory called: id_rsa and id_rsa.pub The first: id_rsa is your private key and the other: id_rsa.pub is your public key.

If you don't want to still be asked for a passphrase (which is basically a password to unlock a given public key) each time you connect, just press enter when asked for a passphrase when creating the key pair. It is up to you to decide whether or not you should add the passphrase protective encryption to your key when you create it. If you don't passphrase protect your key, then anyone gaining access to your local machine will automatically have ssh access to the remote server. Also, root on the local machine has access to your keys although one assumes that if you can't trust root (or root is compromised) then you're in real trouble. Encrypting the key adds additional security at the expense of eliminating the need for entering a password for the ssh server only to be replaced with entering a passphrase for the use of the key. This may be further simplified by the use of the ssh_agent program

Now set permissions on your private key:

$ chmod 700 ~/.ssh
$ chmod 600 ~/.ssh/id_rsa 

Copy the public key (id_rsa.pub) to the server and install it to the authorized_keys list:

$ cat id_rsa.pub >> ~/.ssh/authorized_keys

Note: once you've imported the public key, you can delete it from the server.

and finally set file permissions on the server:

$ chmod 700 ~/.ssh
$ chmod 600 ~/.ssh/authorized_keys 

The above permissions are required if StrictModes is set to yes in /etc/ssh/sshd_config (the default).

Ensure the correct SELinux contexts are set:

$ restorecon -Rv ~/.ssh 

Now when you login to the server you won't be prompted for a password (unless you entered a passphrase when you created your key pair). By default, ssh will first try to authenticate using keys. If no keys are found or authentication fails, then ssh will fall back to conventional password authentication.

Once you've checked you can successfully login to the server using your public/private key pair, you can disable password authentication completely by adding the following setting to your /etc/ssh/sshd_config file:

# Disable password authentication forcing use of keys
PasswordAuthentication no

8. Frequently Asked Question (FAQ)

Q: CentOS uses version X of OpenSSH and the latest version is version Y. Version X contained a serious security flaw, should I upgrade?

A: No. The Upstream Vendor has a policy of backporting security patches from the latest releases into the current distribution version. As long as you have the latest updates applied for your CentOS distribution you are fully patched. See here for further details of backporting security patches:

http://www.redhat.com/advice/speaks_backport.html

9. Links

http://www.centos.org/docs/5/html/Deployment_Guide-en-US/ch-openssh.html

http://www.dragonresearchgroup.org/insight/sshpwauth-tac.html

...

HowTos/Network/SecuringSSH (last edited 2013-12-28 20:04:26 by NedSlider)