Postfix 教学文档

敬请注意:

/!\ 注意:本文档是为 CentOS 5 而撰写的。它的内容对 CentOS 6 或较后版本也许并不准确。

1. 引言

这篇文章的对像是希望设置一台基本邮件服务器的初学者。拥有基本系统管理知识会有帮助,而能够安装软件及编辑配置文件是必须的。这篇文章是针对 CentOS 5 所撰写的,但亦应该适用於更早版本。其后版本也许会有差异。

一台邮件服务器的设置可以有很多不同的实例和组合(多至不能在此尽录),因此这篇文章为你作了一些基本的选择,例如我们将会采用的软件(postfix 及 dovecot)。其它选项则需要用户更改,例如你的网络地址及域名。虚拟网域或用户等高级选项已超越了这篇文章的范畴,因而不会在这里处理。

这篇文章采用 postfix 作为邮件传输代理(MTA),替换了 sendmail,CentOS 5缺省的 MTA(postfix 在 CentOS 6 是缺省的)。dovecot 是用来容让用户通过 imap 或 pop 协议来访问他们的邮件。我们会假设域名是 example.com,它应该由读者更改,这可以是给一台正式邮件服务器用的真实域名,或者只是供内部邮件服务器用的虚构域名。我们假设实体的邮件服务器(主机)是 mail.example.com,并且位於 192.168.0.1 这个私人 IP 地址(这应该按读者的需要作出修改)。这台邮件服务器将会通过标准的系统帐户来提供邮件帐户,而用户将会利用他们的系统帐户及口令来访问他们的邮件。我们会假设有一位用户名叫 John Smith,它拥有一个名为 john 的系统帐户。

2. 安装

我们首先要做的事情就是安装所需的软件。最简单的做法就是在命令行上采用 yum:

yum install postfix dovecot system-switch-mail system-switch-mail-gnome

yum 应该会自动解决任何依赖性的需要。dovecot 依赖 mysql 及 perl,因此它们若未被安装在系统上,现在很可能便会。

另外,我们可省略 'system-switch-mail' 及 'system-switch-mail-gnome' 的安装和删除缺省的 'sendmail' MTA,这样便会令 'postfix' 成为我们系统的缺省 MTA。

yum install postfix dovecot
yum remove sendmail

请留意 CentOS 5 的缺省 MTA 是 sendmail。要是你没有把 postfix 改为缺省的 MTA,更新 postfix 时也许会把 sendmail 恢复为缺省的 MTA。

3. 设置

接下来我们需要设置邮件服务器的各部份。

3.1. Postfix

postfix 的配置文件是存储在 /etc/postfix 之内。postfix 的两个主要配置文件是 master.cfmain.cf,虽然我们在这里只会处理 main.cf。我们会首先在 main.cf 配置文件内作出添加及修改。以下内容需要被添加、编辑或解除注释:

myhostname = mail.example.com
mydomain = example.com
myorigin = $mydomain
inet_interfaces = all
mydestination = $myhostname, localhost.$mydomain, localhost, $mydomain
mynetworks = 192.168.0.0/24, 127.0.0.0/8
relay_domains =
home_mailbox = Maildir/

注:每行文字应该放置行首,而且前面不应有空格或定格字符。以空格或定格字符起首的行会被视为上一行的延续,假如上一行是注释(#),接著的那一行亦会被同样看待。此外,请避免采用内置的注释。

现在让我们查看每个设置来理解我们刚才所做的事情:

myhostname:这是系统的主机名称(例如:系统名叫 mail 或 mail.example.com)。

mydomain:这是邮件服务器的域名(它可以是真实或虚构的域名)。

myorigin:这是本地邮寄的电邮发放及投递时用的域名。

inet_interfaces:它设置 postfix 可以用来接收邮件的网络界面。它们最少要包括 localhost 及 本地网域。

mydestination:这是可投递的网域(换言之,这台服务器是寄往这些网域的邮件的最终目的地)。

mynetworks:这是获信任可以通过服务器来发放或转发邮件的 IP 地址。当来自这些 IP 地址以外的用户尝试通过服务器发放邮件时,便会被拒绝。

relay_domains:这是本系统会把邮件转寄到的网域的清单。通过将它设置为空白,我们确保这台邮件服务器不会成为未受信任的网络的公开转发站。我们推荐读者在这里测试他们的系统并非一个公开的转发站:http://www.abuse.net/relay.html

home_mailbox:它设置信箱相对用户根目录的路径,以及指定要采用的信箱格式。postfix 同时支持 Maildir 及 mbox 格式,而我们鼓励读者阅读有关每个格式的优点。然而,在这篇文章内我们选用了 Maildir 格式(一个尾随的斜线代表 Maildir 格式。要指定 mbox 格式,读者需要采用 home_mailbox = Mailbox)。

3.2. Dovecot

dovecot 的配置文件位於 /etc/dovecot.conf。以下内容需要被添加、编辑或解除注释:

protocols = imap imaps pop3 pop3s
mail_location = maildir:~/Maildir
pop3_uidl_format = %08Xu%08Xv
# Required on x86_64 kernels
login_process_size = 64

让我们再次查看每个选项:

protocols:它指定可供用户访问邮件的协议。dovecot 支持 imap(s) 及 pop3(s) ,你可应用部份或所有协议。

mail_location:它指定每位用户的信箱格式及位置。在这里我们采用 maildir 格式,而且每位用户的信箱是放在 ~/Maildir。配置文件内已经提供了 mbox 格式的样例。

pop3_uidl_format:这是用来修正 Outlook 2003 通过 pop3 访问信箱时出现的问题,因此加入它是很合理的(详情请参阅配置文件内的备注)。

login_process_size:CentOS 5.1 的发行注记声称「当 x86_64 内核上的 dovecot 组件升级至 CentOS 5.1 后,/etc/dovecot.conf 内必须加入 login_process_size = 64 这个参数」。32 位元的安装并不受影响,及不需要这个设置。

注:假如你通过 imap 或 pop3 与 dovecot 连接时出现任何问题,请查阅 dovecot.conf 配置文件内的 IMAP specific settingsPOP3 specific settings 部份有关权宜之计。它所备有的选项多数是关乎旧电邮客户端,以及针对微软 Outlook 和 Outlook Express 的权宜之计。

关于 dovecot 及 C6 的备注:CentOS 6 把配置文件转到 /etc/dovecot/dovecot.conf。Dovecot 在不必对配置文件作出任何修改的情况下已经能引导及自动聆听 pop3(s) 和 imap(s) 端口上的连接。你很可能要作出修改来迎合你的环境。

3.3. 创建用户的信箱

接著我们须要在每位用户的根目录内置立一个信箱及设置适的权限,因此以 john 这个用户为例:

mkdir /home/john/Maildir
chmod -R 700 /home/john/Maildir 

3.4. 别名

我们快要完成了。我们已经为以 john 登录的 John Smith 用户创建了一个邮件帐户。他的电邮地址是 john@example.com 。然而,John 或许会希望通过 jsmith@example.com (或者其它别名)接收邮件。我们可以利用系统的别名文件(postfix 缺省使用 /etc/aliases)为 John 设置一个别名来达至这个目的。我们亦可以为其它用户加入别名,譬如我们可以在 /etc/aliases 加入以下内容,将 root 的电邮转发给 John:

# 要接收 root 的电邮的人
root:           john
# 用户别名
jsmith:         john
j.smith:        john

如果你在 postfix 运作时编辑别名文件来为用户设立新的别名,你必须执行 newaliases 这个指令来重建别名数据库。

4. 引导服务器

现在我们已经准备好引导新的邮件服务器。首先我们要告诉我们的系统以 postfix 取代缺省的 sendmail 作为 MTA。要这样做,执行 system-switch-mail 这个指令并选择 postfix 作为 MTA。这样便会安装 postfix 服务并将它设置在 runlevel 3、4、及 5 下自动引导。然后我们亦须设置 dovecot 在 runlevel 3、4、及 5 下自动引导,并引导这两个服务:

chkconfig --level 345 dovecot on
/etc/init.d/dovecot start
/etc/init.d/postfix start

此刻一切应该已在运作。你的邮件服务器不论是发送及接收内部的电邮,或是发送对外的电邮都应该没有问题。要在你的网域上接收外来的电邮,你必须在你的网域的 DNS 内设置 MX 记录(最理想是通过你的 ISP 额外设置一个 PTR rDNS 将你的网域映射至你的 IP 地址)。切勿忘记在你的 Linux 防火墙上根据你所执行的服务打开端口(SMTP 25;POP3 110;IMAP 143;IMAPS 993;POP3S 995),并在所有路由器上为这些端口启用转接功能。

如果你对 postfix 的 main.cf 配置文件作出任何改动,你可以选择重新引导 postfix 服务,或执行 postfix reload 这个指令来更新这些改动。

5. 总结

postfix 是一个非常强劲及多用途的邮件传输代理。在这篇文章内我们看见如何利用 postfix 及 dovecot 为一个网域设立一台应用系统帐户的基本邮件服务器。我们并未认真地探究 postfix 系统的性能,但盼望这里提供了一个基础让新用户能够创建在其上。

现在我们鼓励读者阅读相关的 postfix 规限指南

6. 连结

我们鼓励读者阅读 postfix 网站上收藏的大量 postfix 文件,及所包含的众多样例设置:

http://www.postfix.org/documentation.html

测试邮件服务器是否被设成公开转发站:

http://www.abuse.net/relay.html

..

Translation of revision 33

zh/HowTos/postfix (last edited 2013-10-29 01:46:12 by TimothyLee)

Postfix HOWTO

Nota bene:

/!\ Notice: This documentation was written for CentOS 5. It may not be accurate for CentOS 6 or subsequent releases.

1. Introduction

This article is aimed at beginners who wish to set up a basic email server. Basic system administration knowledge would be an advantage and the ability to install software and edit configuration files is essential. The article was written for CentOS 5 but should be equally applicable to earlier versions. Later versions may differ.

There are many different scenarios and combinations that can be used when setting up an email server (far to many to cover here), so this article makes some basic choices for you, such as the software we will use (postfix and dovecot). Other options are required to be altered by the user, such as your network addresses and domain names. More advanced options such as virtual domains and users are outside the scope of this article and will not be covered herein.

This article uses postfix as the mail transport agent (MTA), as opposed to sendmail, the default MTA for CentOS 5 (postfix is the default in CentOS 6). Dovecot is used to allow users to access their email by either imap or pop protocols. We assume a domain name of example.com which should be changed by the reader and can be either a real domain name for a fully qualified email server or a fake domain name if you only wish to implement an internal mail server. We assume that the physical mail server (host) is mail.example.com and is located at the private IP address 192.168.0.1 (this should be changed to suit the readers needs). The email server will provide email accounts via standard user system accounts and users will access their email using their system account username and password. We will assume a user called John Smith who has a system account under the login name of john.

2. Installation

The first thing we need to do is install the requisite software. The easiest way to do this is with yum from the command line:

yum install postfix dovecot system-switch-mail system-switch-mail-gnome

Yum should automatically resolve any dependencies. Dovecot is dependent on mysql and perl, so these will likely be installed too if they are not already installed on the system.

Alternatively, we can skip 'system-switch-mail' and 'system-switch-mail-gnome' installation and remove the default MTA 'sendmail', this will make 'postfix' the default MTA in our system.

yum install postfix dovecot 
yum remove sendmail

Please note that the default MTA in CentOS 5 is sendmail. If you do not make postfix the default MTA, updating postfix may cause the default MTA to revert to sendmail.

3. Configuration

Next we need to configure the various parts of our email server.

3.1. Postfix

Postfix configuration files are stored in /etc/postfix. The two main postfix configuration files are master.cf and main.cf, although we will only be dealing with main.cf here. First we are going to make some additions or changes to the main.cf configuration file. The following lines should be added, edited or uncommented:

myhostname = mail.example.com
mydomain = example.com
myorigin = $mydomain
inet_interfaces = all
mydestination = $myhostname, localhost.$mydomain, localhost, $mydomain
mynetworks = 192.168.0.0/24, 127.0.0.0/8
relay_domains =
home_mailbox = Maildir/

Note: Each line should start at the beginning of a new line and should not be preceded by white space or tabs. White space or tabs at the beginning of a line are treated as a continuation of the previous line, and if the previous line is a comment (#) line then the subsequent line is also treated as such. Further, inline comments should be avoided.

Now lets take a look at each setting it turn to understand what we've just done:

myhostname: is the host name of the system (i.e, the system is called mail or mail.example.com).

mydomain: is the domain name for the email server (it can be a real or fake domain name).

myorigin: is the domain name that locally-posted email appears to have come from and is delivered to.

inet_interfaces: sets the network interfaces that Postfix can receive mail on. These need to include at least localhost and the local domain.

mydestination: is the list of domains that will be delivered to (i.e, this server is the final destination for email addressed to these domains).

mynetworks: is a list of trusted IP addresses that may send or relay mail through the server. Users attempting to send email through the server originating from IP addresses not listed here will be rejected.

relay_domains: is a list of destination domains this system will relay mail to. By setting it to be blank we ensure that our mail server isn't acting as an open relay for untrusted networks. The reader is advised to test that their system isn't acting as an open relay here: http://www.abuse.net/relay.html

home_mailbox: sets the path of the mailbox relative to the users home directory and also specifies the style of mailbox to be used. Postfix supports both Maildir and mbox formats and readers are encouraged to read up on the merits of each for themselves. However, in this article we have chosen to use Maildir format (a trailing slash indicates Maildir format. To specify mbox format, the reader would use home_mailbox = Mailbox).

3.2. Dovecot

The dovecot configuration file is located at /etc/dovecot.conf. The following lines should be added, edited or uncommented:

protocols = imap imaps pop3 pop3s
mail_location = maildir:~/Maildir
pop3_uidl_format = %08Xu%08Xv
# Required on x86_64 kernels
login_process_size = 64

Again, looking at each option:

protocols: specifies the protocols available to users to access their email. Dovecot supports imap(s) and pop3(s), and any or all may be used.

mail_location: specifies the format and location of each users mailbox. Here we see we are using maildir format and each user has their mailbox located at ~/Maildir. Examples for mbox format are provided in the configuration file.

pop3_uidl_format: is required to fix a problem with Outlook 2003 accessing mailboxes via pop3 so it makes sense to set this (see the notes in the configuration file for more details).

login_process_size: The release notes for CentOS 5.1 state that "the Dovecot package on x86_64 kernels requires the parameter "login_process_size = 64" to be added to /etc/dovecot.conf after an upgrade to CentOS 5.1". 32-Bit installations are unaffected and do not require this setting.

Note: If you have any issues connecting with either imap or pop3 to dovecot, check the IMAP specific settings and POP3 specific settings sections of the dovecot.conf configuration file for workarounds. The available options mostly affect older mail clients and workarounds for Microsoft Outlook and Outlook Express.

Note on dovecot and C6: With CentOS 6 the configuration moved to /etc/dovecot/dovecot.conf. Dovecot can be started without any further changes to the configuration file and will automatically listen for connections on the ports for pop3(s) and imap(s). Changes to suite your environment will probably be required.

3.3. Create users mailboxes

Next we need to create a mailbox for each user in their home directory and set the appropriate permission, so using our example user john:

mkdir /home/john/Maildir
chown john:john /home/john/Maildir
chmod -R 700 /home/john/Maildir 

Note: If creating the user mailboxes as root then we must set ownership of the directory to the user.

3.4. Aliases

We are nearly finished. We have an email account set up for our user John Smith who logs in as john. His email address would be john@example.com . However, John may like to receive email as jsmith@example.com (or any other alias). We can achieve this by setting an alias for John using the system alias file (by default postfix uses /etc/aliases). We can also add aliases for other users, so for example we could also redirect root's email to John by adding the following to /etc/aliases:

# Person who should get root's mail
root:           john
# User aliases
jsmith:         john
j.smith:        john

If you edit the aliases file to set up new aliases for users once postfix is running, you must rebuild the aliases database by running the newaliases command.

4. Starting the server

We are now ready to fire up our new email server. First we need to tell our system to use postfix as the MTA rather than the default sendmail. To do this, run the system-switch-mail command and select postfix as the MTA. This will install the postfix service and set it to start automatically at runlevels 3, 4, and 5. Next we need to set the dovecot service to also automatically start at runlevels 3, 4, and 5, and start both services:

chkconfig --level 345 dovecot on
/etc/init.d/dovecot start
/etc/init.d/postfix start

at which point you should be up and running. Your email server should have no trouble sending and receiving email internally and sending external email. To receive external email on your domain, you will also need to configure MX records in DNS for your domain (ideally a PTR rDNS entry should also be configured through your ISP mapping your IP address to your domain). Don't forget to open any required ports on your Linux firewall depending what services you are running (SMTP 25; POP3 110; IMAP 143; IMAPS 993; POP3S 995) and enable port forwarding for those ports on any routers.

If you make any changes to the postfix configuration file main.cf, you can either restart the postfix service or run the postfix reload command to update the changes.

5. Summary

Postfix is an extremely powerful and versatile mail transport agent. In this article we have seen how to implement a basic email server using postfix and dovecot for a single domain based on system user accounts. We have barely scratched the surface of the true capabilities of a postfix-based system, but hopefully have provided a solid working foundation on which new users can build.

Readers are now encouraged to read the complimentary postfix restrictions guide.

6. Links

Readers are encouraged to read the extensive postfix documentation available at the postfix website including the many example configurations:

http://www.postfix.org/documentation.html

Test for email servers configured as open relays:

http://www.abuse.net/relay.html

..

HowTos/postfix (last edited 2013-01-04 17:06:34 by NedSlider)