在 CentOS 计划我们以 Git 作为首选的版本控制软件。假若你是新手,http://git-scm.com/ 收录了很多好的资源,当中包括入门指南。

CentOS-6 及 7 缺省已包含了 Git,而 CentOS-5 则由 EPEL 提供。

CentOS 计划把源码收录于 git.centos.org,而我们视该处为本计划的权威性上游。不同的项目,作为计划的一部份,也许会选择把他们的内容映射到其它地方,例如 Github。然而所有发行的内容必须创建自 git.centos.org,并在该处测试和保管。

Git.CentOS.Org

计划

git.centos.org 上的源码以个别 rpm 或角色组织成独立的 git 源码库。这些源码库再组成「计划」。最主要的「计划」名为 rpms/ ,它涵盖我们创建和发行的所有 rpms 的源码库。你可以在 https://git.centos.org/project/rpms 查看这个计划。

一般来说,每个 SIG 都会拥有个别的计划。此做法容许他们在自己的范围内加入非 rpm 的内容(例如:测试工具、管理界面、脚本、等等);SIG 多数都拥有这些计划的管理权限。

Git 的组织

Git 源码库,特别是那些含有 rpm 内容的,都以对应 CentOS 发行名称的分支作为组织。例如:你可以在 c7 这个分支内找到 CentOS Linux 7 所发行的内容。同样地 c5 及 c6 分支名称对应 CentOS-5 及 CentOS-6。在正常情况下,MASTER 或 HEAD 分支内不会藏有任何内容,唯独是一个文档显示在哪里可找到实际源码。当改动 SIG 的专用组件时,我们推荐把源码提交到一个以该 SIG 的名称(或该 SIG 在 git.centos.org 上的计划名称)而命名的分支。这样不单止容许别人查看及跟踪他们所关注的源码历史,更能让别人在不污染发行目录的情况下创建独立的 fork 和分支。

非文字源文件

我们只将文字源码提交给 git。所有非文字源文件皆被抽起,计算散列码(sha256sum)并上载至 https://git.centos.org/sources/ 的专用缓存区内。它们被编进对应 git 分支的组别,然后再以所属的 git 源码库分组。因此这些非文字源文件的全路径是 https://git.centos.org/sources/<git 源码库名称>/<分支名称>/。

请留意零长度的文件以特别形式处理,它们不会被提交给 git,也不会被推进缓存区。然而这些文件同样会被跟踪,并通过非文字源文件的中继档获得创建。

每个 git 源码库都拥有一个中继档,名为 .<git 源码库名称>.metadata,并收录在该 git 分支的根目录里。这个文件对应 sha256sum 散列码至他们的整全文件名,而 get_sources.sh 脚本便以它作为输入。

get_sources.sh

有意运用 git.centos.org 及对它作出贡献的用户必须复制及设置 centos-common 源码;它收录在 https://git.centos.org/summary/?r=centos-git-common.git

复制它的 git 指令是:

[user@host]$ git clone  https://git.centos.org/git/centos-git-common.git 

此 git 源码库所收录的东西,包括 get_sources.sh 脚本。当你在一个从 git 检出的 rpm 源码库下执行该脚本时,它会分析非文字源文件的中继档,下载相关文件,并创建 SOURCES/ 目录。你或许会想在 ~/bin 创建连结到该脚本(见以下工作样例)。

样例流程

假设我们想修改 CentOS 的内核源码。

[user@host]$ git clone  https://git.centos.org/git/rpms/kernel.git 
[user@host]$ cd kernel
# 举例说我们要修改 centos7 的内核
[user@host]$ git checkout c7
[user@host]$ ~/bin/get_sources.sh
# 切换至本地目录树作编辑之用
[user@host]$ git checkout -b my-kernel
# 修改 SPEC 档……等
[user@host]$ git commit -m'my local changes' -a
# 确保我们能创建一个 srpm
[user@host]$ rpmbuild --nodeps --define "%_topdir `pwd`" -bs SPECS/kernel.spec
# 要是成功的话,
[user@host]$ rpmbuild --define "%_topdir `pwd`" -ba SPECS/kernel.spec

提交代码至现有的 git 源码库

我们较喜欢以 git format-patch 创建并发送至 centos-devel 邮件列表(http://lists.centos.org/mailman/listinfo/centos-devel )的修正档。就以上文修改的内核源码为例:

[user@host]$ git clone https://git.centos.org/git/rpms/kernel.git
cd kernel
# 举例说我们要修改 centos7 的内核
[user@host]$ git checkout c7
[user@host]$ ~/bin/get_sources.sh
# 切换至本地目录树作编辑之用
[user@host]$ git checkout -b my-kernel
# 修改 SPEC 档……等
[user@host]$ git commit -m 'my local change' -a

请为你想递交的所有 commit 重复这个步骤,最理想是每个 commit 只包含一项功能或改动 —— 并将多项功能分拆至个别的 commit。在你的 commit 信息内利用动词来形容你做了什么亦是个好主意。要是改动是针对某个错误报告,请把它包含在内,并以 #<编号> 作参考。加入所有 commit 后,你可以如此创建修正档:

[user@host]$ git format-patch c7

现在你的工作目录内应该含有名为 0001-<commit>.patch、0002-<commit>.patch、等……的文件;你应该把这些文件以附件(即不是嵌入)形式发送到 centos-devel 邮件列表。请提供信息关于你想改动什么,有必要的话请也提供 bugs.centos.org 内指向 http://lists.centos.org/mailman/listinfo/centos-devel 并拥有你的电邮地址的存档邮件。

Translation of revision 13

zh/Sources (last edited 2015-03-06 16:01:17 by TimothyLee)

Git is the version control software of choice for us here at the CentOS Project. If you are new to this, there are some great resources including getting started guides at http://git-scm.com/

Git is included by default in CentOS-6 & -7 and is available from EPEL for CentOS-5.

The CentOS project hosts our sources at git.centos.org and we consider this to be the canonical upstream for the project. Various efforts, as a part of the project, might choose to also mirror their content in other places like Github. However all release content must be built from, tested via and curated at git.centos.org

Git.CentOS.Org

Projects

Code at git.centos.org is organised into git repos, one per rpm or role. These git repositories are then organised into 'projects'. The main 'project' is called rpms/ and contains git repos for all the rpms we build and ship. You can view this project at: https://git.centos.org/project/rpms

Typically, every SIG would have its own project. This allows them to add in non rpm content (eg. test suites, or management interfaces, scripts, etc) within their own domain. SIGs would also typically have administration rights over these projects they own.

Git organisation

Git repositories, specially those that contain rpm content, are organised by branch names that map to CentOS Releases eg. branch name 'c7' would be where you will find content released into CentOS Linux 7. Similarly c5 and c6 branch names correspond to CentOS-5 and CentOS-6. There is usually no content in the MASTER or HEAD branches other than a readme indicating where to look for the actual code. When working with a SIG specific component, we recommend committing code into a branch that maps to the SIG name (or the SIGs project name on git.centos.org). This not only allows people to view and track on the code history they care about but it also allows people to create site-specific forks and branches without polluting the distro release tree.

Non Text Sources

We only checkin text sources into git. All non-text sources are extracted, hashed (sha256sum'd) and uploaded into their own lookaside cache at https://git.centos.org/sources/ They are organised into groups that map to the branch of git to which they apply and are further grouped into the git repos to which they belong. The fully qualified path to those non-text-sources would then be https://git.centos.org/sources/<git repo name>/<branch name>/

Note that there is a special case for zero byte files, that are neither checked into git nor pushed into lookaside. These files are however still tracked and reproduced via the non-text-sources metadata file.

Every git repository has one of these metadata files named .<git reponame>.metadata and hosted in the root directory of the git checkout/branch. This file is used to map the sha256sums to their full filenames and are consumed by the get_sources.sh script.

get_sources.sh

Everyone considering consuming and contributing content to git.centos.org must first clone and setup the centos-common code, which is available at: https://git.centos.org/summary/?r=centos-git-common.git

The git command to clone this would be:

[user@host]$ git clone  https://git.centos.org/git/centos-git-common.git 

This git repository contains, amongst other things, the get_sources.sh script. This script, when run from a git checkout for an rpm git repo will parse the non-text-sources metadata file, and download the relevant files, setting up the SOURCES/ directory. You may want to create a symlink to this script from ~/bin (see the example session below).

Example workflow

Assume we want to work with the CentOS kernel sources.

[user@host]$ git clone  https://git.centos.org/git/rpms/kernel.git 
cd kernel
# let's work on the centos7 kernel
[user@host]$ git checkout c7
[user@host]$ ~/bin/get_sources.sh
# switch to the local tree to edit
[user@host]$ git branch my-kernel
[user@host]$ git checkout my-kernel
# make edits to SPEC file, etc 
[user@host]$ git commit -m'my local changes' -a
# ensure we can create a srpm
[user@host]$ rpmbuild --nodeps --define "%_topdir `pwd`" -bs SPECS/kernel.spec
# if that works, 
[user@host]$ rpmbuild --define "%_topdir `pwd`" -ba SPECS/kernel.spec

Sources (last edited 2014-06-27 19:38:25 by AkemiYagi)