现况:推荐中

简化 Linux 服务器(SLS) SIG

概论

简化 Linux 服务器(SLS) SIG 将会提供一个通用的平台,可交付建基于 CentOS 的整体解决方案,通过网页及/或 REST 界面进行管理。我们会著致力筛选各类应用程序及提供一个能简化部署和维护的整全方案。

全盘计划

数据库服务器、网页服务器、文件服务器、代理服务器及很多其它应用程序以 CentOS 作为出发点。一般来说,这些方案的部署是通过内部的工具(譬如 Puppet)、命令行或传统的 Linux 专才。这阻止了很多 IT 方案供应商考虑采纳 CentOS,因为结构全面的方案必须跨越高耸的知识障碍。试想想以下例子:一位系统管理员有需要在一台虚拟机器或云端实体上创建一个以 CentOS 为基础的邮件服务器。该管理员必须安装 CentOS,以及:

最后,他们采用 OpenLDAP 进行用户及群组管理。现在他们只需把这堆开源组件设置成为整全的邮件方案:/etc/postfix/main.cf、/etc/clamd.conf、/etc/imapd.conf、等。完成后,他们便打开 OpenSSL 的文档来考究那些安全凭证的术语。

SLS SIG 会提供一个能集结各类应用程序的平台,然后以一个网页/REST 界面把方案包装起来。这 有异于一个聚焦在管理的 SIG。有别于管理界面(例如 webmin 等),SLS 专注在以目标为本的管理,而非修改配置文件另类方法。它不流于显示所有选项,而是显示最佳做法的成效,把系统按目标为本的设置进行设置。这样的结果是一组简洁、可伸缩、统一的设置,替换多个低层改动。此外,通过开放服务器管理给惯用图像界面的管理器和减少类似部署的变化,这个结构能降低支持需求及成本。

可交付成果

SIG 成员将会参与开发及维护以 CentOS 作为基础的整体解决方案。

软件维护 —— 此 SIG 会协调常用上游组件的维护,有助减省重复的功夫,为所有 CentOS 用户提供更佳的经验。

质量检定 —— 此 SIG 提供的方案将会紧密地整合 CentOS 内的不同应用程序。此举会给予一个难得的机会进行额外的质检测试(例如 Samba + OpenLDAP)。

与其它特别兴趣小组接口

发行软件的机制

开始时,SLS SIG 将会在同一个源码库内收录开发、测试及生产用的代码,通过适当的标签和分支让开发者和用户随时都能取得适用的稳定代码。

有谁参与

社群内的任何人仕均可参与及作出贡献。

软件

未来的潜在合作伙伴

这个 SIG 为何重要

所需资源

我们期望 CentOS 计划提供:

现状

此 SIG 有多位创办成员拥有适合迁转到 CentOS 软件库的组件。

引导程序

引导程序的第一步就是确保所有期望与 CentOS 委员会看齐。当此 SIG 已创建所需的资源,创办成员便会把他们的组件及部署用的资源迁转到 CentOS 的结构,然后鼓励他人在该环境下参与开发。

我们计划在此程序进行时作记录,为日后有意参与的人留下一条清淅的路径。此程序包括与 CentOS 委员会及整个社群进行讨论,探讨在 CentOS 平台上提供服务的最佳方法。

市场上相若的焦点

市场上已经有这类关系的整合。其中较显著的例子有 Ubuntu 旗下的 Zentyal 计划。 https://help.ubuntu.com/12.04/serverguide/zentyal.html

另一个进行中的项目是 Fedora Server Working Group: http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Server

Translation of revision 8

zh/SpecialInterestGroup/SLS (last edited 2014-05-27 02:55:38 by TimothyLee)

Status: proposal

Simplified Linux Server (SLS) SIG

Overview

The Simplified Linux Server (SLS) SIG provides a common platform for delivering turnkey CentOS-based solutions that are managed via a web and/or REST-based interface. The focus is on taking the various application silos and providing a cohesive solution to simplify deployment and maintenance.

Big Picture

Database servers, web servers, file servers, proxy servers and many other applications use CentOS as a starting point. Typically, these solutions are deployed using in-house tools (e.g. Puppet), the command line, and plain old Linux expertise. This limits CentOS’ ability to be considered by many IT solution providers due to high knowledge barrier required to obtain a comprehensive solution. Consider this example: a system administrator needs to create a CentOS-based mail server on a VM or cloud instance. The administrator installs CentOS, along with:

They pull it all together with OpenLDAP for user and group management. Now all that needs to be done is configuring all those open source packages into a cohesive mail solution: /etc/postfix/main.cf, /etc/clamd.conf, /etc/imapd.conf, etc. When that's done, they breakout the OpenSSL documentation to figure out all the security certificate jargon.

The SLS SIG provides a platform for pulling all of these disparate applications together, and then wrapping up the solution in a web/REST-based interface. This is different from a management focused SIG. Unlike management interfaces (ie. webmin, et al), SLS focuses on results-based administration rather than alternate ways to modify configuration files. Rather than showing all the options, it shows the best practices results and takes care of configuring the system to those results-based configurations. The result is simplified, scalable, and unified configuration rather than granular customization. Additionally, this framework lowers support requirements and costs by making server administration accessible to GUI-oriented administrators and by creating similar deployment scenarios with fewer permutations.

Deliverables

The SIG members are involved in the development and maintenance of turnkey solutions based on CentOS.

Software Maintenance - This SIG will co-ordinate maintenance of common upstream packages in order to avoid duplication and provide a better experience for all CentOS users.

Quality Assurance - This SIG provides solutions with tight integration amongst the various applications in CentOS. This provides a unique opportunity to provide additional QA testing (e.g. Samba + OpenLDAP).

Interface with Other SIGs

Mechanism To Deliver Software

The SLS SIG will begin with a single repository to house development, testing, and production code with the appropriate tagging and branching to ensure that developers and users are always getting the appropriate level of stable code.

Who is involved

Anyone from the community could join and contribute.

Software

Future potential collaborators

Why this SIG is important

Resources needed

We expect the following from the CentOS Project:

Current Status

A plurality of founding members of the SIG have packages that could be easily migrated to the CentOS repo.

Bootstrap process

The first step in this bootstrap is ensure that all expectations are aligned with the CentOS board. Once this SIG is established as a necessary resource the founding members will migrate their packaging and deployment resources over to CentOS infrastructure and start promoting development work as a participatory effort in that setting.

We will aim to document this process as it happens so that other wishing to join at a later date will have a clear pathway on how to participate. Part of this process will be a discussion with the CentOS board, and community-at-large, on the best way to deliver services on top of the CentOS platform.

Comparable focus in the marketplace

Already, integration for this type of relationship exists in the marketplace. A notable example is the Zentyal project within Ubuntu. See https://help.ubuntu.com/12.04/serverguide/zentyal.html

Another work in progress is the Fedora Server Working Group: http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Server

SpecialInterestGroup/SLS (last edited 2014-05-26 13:24:11 by FilippoCarletti)