軟件選集(SCL)軟件庫

1. 宗旨

企業級 Linux 發行版本都被設計成持久可用的。它們的設計亦包括在發行版本使用期內維持 ABI/API 兼容性,因此只要某個發行版本仍獲支援,你在它發行首日所寫的程式便可一直運作。現時 CentOS 的壽命是 10 年。然而,這意味著在發行版本使用期的尾段,它所包含的程式語言或資料庫版本(例如 php、python、perl 或 mysql、postgresql)對比「尖端」Linux 發行版本所提供的就顯得古舊。

對行多企業用戶而言,這不是問題……試想想一間大型零售商,耗資一千萬以預設的語言建立了一個盤點方案,她期望在整個 10 年使用期內安心地應用該方案,以便獲得投資在程式上的回報。不過有很多企業亦希望能以較新的程式建立軟件。她們想同時擁有穩定性及較新的軟件。她們要求這些軟件兼容其他系統軟件,好讓她們能選擇遁序改進或較新的軟件作開發之用。

讓我介紹軟件選集,又名 SCL。舉個例說:SCL 容許你執行 CentOS 提供的預設 python(這樣 yum 及其他 CentOS 工具便可用),又容許你同時安裝較新版的 python 作建立及執行程式之用。

2. 存取 SCL

若要在 CentOS 下存取 SCL,你需要安裝 CentOS Software Collections 發行檔。它是 CentOS Extras 軟件庫(只限 x86_64)的一部份,並可透過以下指命進行安裝:

yum install centos-release-scl

3. 現有軟件選集

可供應用的軟件選集大部份已收錄在 此處

它們是由 軟件選集 SIG( 特別興趣小組) 所管理的。

4. 安裝軟件選集

以下文檔解釋 Red Hat Software Collections 的應用方法:

文檔

如要找尋適用的郵件列表或匯報錯誤,請參閱該 特別興趣小組 的詳細資料。

Translation of revision 16

zh-tw/AdditionalResources/Repositories/SCL (last edited 2016-06-03 09:27:46 by TimothyLee)

The Software Collections ( SCL ) Repository

1. Purpose

Enterprise Linux distributions are designed to be around for a long time. They are also designed to maintain ABI/API compatibility over the lifetime of the distribution, so that you can create your own custom programs on day 1 of the release and have them work as long as the distribution is supported. For CentOS that is currently 10 years. This means, however, that by the end of the lifetime of a distribution, the programming language or database versions (think php, python, perl or mysql, postgresql) included are getting very old compared to those that are available in "cutting edge" Linux distributions.

For many enterprise users, that is OK ... Think a major retailer who spent $10 Million to create an inventory solution using the default languages available and they want to leverage that solution securely for the entire 10 year lifespan to get a return on their programming investment. But many enterprises also want to be able to create software with newer programs as well. They want both stability AND newer software. They want it to work alongside the other system software so they can choose slow and steady or newer software for development.

Enter Software Collections, also known as SCLs. As an example, SCLs allow you to run the default python that comes with CentOS (so yum and other system tools in CentOS work), while also allowing a newer version of python to be installed alongside the default python for use creating and running software with newer requirements.

2. Gaining Access to SCLs

In order to gain access to SCLs for CentOS, you need to install the CentOS Linux Software Collections release file. It is part of the CentOS Extras repository (x86_64 only) and can be installed with this command:

yum install centos-release-scl

3. Available Collections

The available collections are mostly tracked here.

These are managed by the SCL Special Interest Group (SIG).

4. Installing Software Collections

The following documentation explains the usage of Red Hat Software Collections:

Documentation

See the details about the SIG for the applicable mailing lists and any bug tracking required.

AdditionalResources/Repositories/SCL (last edited 2016-05-31 15:25:44 by AlanBartlett)