如何通过 USB 设备来安装 CentOS

由 CentOS 6.5 及 7.0 起,建立 USB 储存器的首选方法是利用 dd(范例见下文)。

<!> 其它用户比较喜欢「另类方法」部分内的某些做法,而且已证实适用于 CentOS-6。

以下程序已经被不同用户所测试,但未必能涵盖所有可能性。CentOS 计划建议的做法是运用 dd

推动力

很多新近的系统,尤其是笔记型及超轻量计算机,都未必拥有 CD 或 DVD 机,而视乎网络连接及安装器对网络硬件的支持,进行网络安装可以是困难、不设实际、或根本不可能。这里的程序容许你在没有网络连接、或其它安装媒体的情况下,只利用一支可开机的 USB 设备及目标系统的碟盘来安装 CentOS。

CentOS 6(6.5 以上版本)和 CentOS 7

由 CentOS 6.5 起,你只需通过 dd 把 ISO 档转到 USB 存储器,便能利用它进行安装。

举例说,假设你的 USB 储存器位于 /dev/sdb(请确定这乎合你的装置,不是盲目假设是 /dev/sdb,否则你有可能盖过重要的资料):

dd if=CentOS-6.5-x86_64-bin-DVD1.iso of=/dev/sdb

你必须写进整个装置,而不是期上的分割区(所以是 /dev/sdb 而不是 /dev/sdb1)

当被问及安装来源时,请选择 hard disk,然后指向对应 USB 存储器的设备。

请选择对应 USB 存储器的设备为目标(以上样例是 /dev/sdb)而不是分区 (例如 /dev/sdb1)

同一个方法亦适用于 CentOS 7。此外,由于 CentOS 7 安装程序的映像采用了特殊的分区,而截至 2014 年 7 月,大部份 Windows 工具都不能正确地转移,因此利用 USB 存储器开机时会导致不能预知的结果。(暂时)已知不适用的工具包括 unetbootin、multibootusb 和 universal usb installler —— 请勿采用它们。已确定能正确运作的有 Rufus(有可能视乎所选的选项,因为 rufus 亦有失效的汇报)、Fedora LiveUSB CreatorWin32 Disk ImagerRawrite32dd for Windows。如果采用 Windows 7 以上的版本,请先卸下该 USB 存储器(其中一个方法是在执行工具程序前把存储器格式化),否则 Windows 可能会拒绝写入该存储器,出现 can't write to drive 错误及取消行动。

如果采用 Windows 版的 dd,请执行 dd --list仔细地查看 NT Block Device Objects 的清单,然后采用名称与 \\?\Device\Harddisk1\Partition0 相若的项目,它的描述大概会是 Removable media other than floppy. Block size = 512。请极度小心挑选输出设备,否则你也许会覆盖要保留的数据!在我的系统上我执行 dd if=CentOS-7.0-1406-DVD.iso of=\\?\Device\Harddisk1\Partition0 —— 你的设备名称及指令也许会有所不同!

旧版 CentOS-6

请留意只有最新的 CentOS 发行版本才会获得支持。我们强烈推荐你只安装最新的次要发行版本。因此你不应利用以下方法,除非你有非常迫切的理由要安装一个较旧及不获支持的发行版本。

针对 CentOS-6,有位用户推荐采用 livecd-tools 内的 livecd-iso-to-disk 于 DVD1 上。此方法已配合 EPEL 的 livecd-tools-13.4-1.el6 测试过。多谢论坛用户 AndrewSerk讨论中提出这个推荐。此外请也参阅邮件列表内这封邮件有关安装 qemu 的必要性。

旧方法

<!>汇报指此方法仍适用于 CentOS 6.4

在一支 USB 存储器上创建 CentOS 6.2 发行版本 —— 多谢 Mark Roth 提供 CentOS-6 的步骤,及 CentOS-Docs 邮件列表上的 Yves Bellefeuille 添加及修正内容。

推荐:8GB 或更大的 USB 存储器。

  1. 把 USB 存储器分割为两个分区:第一个是 FAT32,大约 250M;第二个是 ext3,占用余下的空间。(你需要一个 ext3 分区,因为稍后复制的 ISO 文件尺寸超越 FAT32 或 VFAT 分区的最大容量。)
  2. 假若不是自动挂载的,请挂载 DVD(在 /media 或 /mnt 上)。下面假设是 /mnt/USB 及 /mnt/DVD。
  3. 挂载 USB 存储器在 /mnt/USB/ 上。

  4. 复制 /mnt/DVD/isolinux 的目录及内容至 /mnt/USB/

  5. /mnt/USB/isolinux 换名为 /mnt/USB/syslinux

  6. /mnt/USB/syslinux/isolinux.cfg 换名为 /mnt/USB/syslinux/syslinux.cfg

  7. 复制 /mnt/DVD/images 的目录及内容至 /mnt/USB/。(有一个错误已被汇报,因为截至 2012 年 1 月 11 日,安装时需要 .iso(参考下文),但 linux rescue 需要映像的内容来装入程序及执行。)

  8. 假设 USB 存储器是 /dev/sdb
    syslinux /dev/sdb 
    syslinux /dev/sdb1 
  9. 卸下第一个 USB 分区,然后挂载第二个分区
    umount /mnt/USB
    mount /dev/sdb2 /mnt/USB
  10. 复制 .iso 档至 /mnt/USB。请勿使用 LiveCD 或 LiveDVD。选用 DVD1、minimal CD ISO、或按照将 CD 媒体转为 DVD而制成的混合 DVD1/DVD2。切勿复制内容 —— 安装器现在需要 .iso 档本身,它会在安装时自行挂载,跟随上游的安装指南在同样的分区创建一个存放镜像文件的目录。要是你采用 DVD1,而且在安装时将会用到 DVD2,你可选择加上 DVD2。

  11. 可选:在 /mnt/USB 创建 grub.conf。如果你的系统要以 USB 存储器作为首个碟盘,你或许需要这样做,好让你稍后能把它复制至硬盘。如需指引,请参考 HowTos/GrubInstallation 第二节。

  12. 卸下 USB 存储器,它已经准备好了。
  13. 采用 USB 媒体来开机,方法就是在 BIOS 设置它为首个开机设备,或在某些 BIOS 下于 POST 后按 F12 键来选择开机设备。
  14. 在安装过程中,用户会被问到 "What type of media contains the installation image?" 请选择 USB 存储器上的首个分区,它应该会出现在 Hard drive 选单内,接着是便是 /dev/sda1 或对应首个 USB 分区的设备。
  15. 进行分割后,用户会被问要否安装 Grub 开机程序及在哪处安装它。当你以 USB 存储器开机后,BIOS 或许会以为 USB 存储器是首个碟盘。如果 USB 被视为首个设备,却想依般例把 Grub 开机程序安装至硬盘的 MBR 上,用户便需要运用 Grub 的高级安装选项更改硬盘的次序。
  16. 设置 Grub 安装选项后,以下错误信息或许会出现:Missing ISO 9660 image: The installer has tried to mount image #1, but cannot find it on the hard drive。安装程序正在 USB 存储器的首个分区上寻找 ISO 档,但它位于第二个分区。请按 Ctrl-Alt-F2 进入有指令壳的终端機,然后卸下 USB 的首个分区

    umount /mnt/isodir
    挂载 USB 设备上的第二个分区。它第同于上述 #14 采用的设备 —— 举个例说
    mount -t ext3 /dev/sda2 /mnt/isodir
    返回安装程序(Ctrl-Alt-F6)及选择 Retry。
  17. 在没有接上 USB 设备的情况下结束安装及重新开机。要是你在开机时遇上问题,开机记录很可能被写进错误的设备内。见如何重新安装开机管理程序(GRUB),要是你在辨认正确的设备上遇到困难,见排除 GRUB 的问题

另类方法

<!> 这些另类方法只作历史性记录。它们多类只适用于 CentOS 6,而且不该用在 CentOS 7。最佳的方法是利用 dd 把 CentOS ISO 映像复制到 USB 储存器上。

UNetbootin 也许是最受欢迎的「外来」方法。它同时备有 Windows 及 Linux 的执行档,助你把不同的 Linux 发行版本创建为开机用的 USB 存储器。我们不推荐继续采用此工具,因它不能配合新版的 CentOS 映像档。它曾经有一个 anaconda 错误可导致媒体不能使用 —— 这个错误在 Fedora 13 已获修正,在 RHEL/CentOS-6 上理应一样。论坛上有用户汇报它至少适用于 CentOS-6 的 netinstall ISO。当使用 netinstall ISO 时,你可以把整只安装碟的 ISO 档复制到 USB 媒体的根目录里,然后选择「硬盘」安装。


livecd-iso-to-disk 更棒,你可通过 git 取得它:

https://git.fedorahosted.org/cgit/livecd/plain/tools/livecd-iso-to-disk.sh

下载后,chmod +x 然后执行它:

./livecd-iso-to-disk.sh /path/to/iso /dev/partition_of_your_usb_stick

你也可加上这个选项:

--overlay-size-mb 1024

为存储器加上持续功能专用的空间。

你无须再把 ISO 档放置在存储器上,便可直接利用它作安装之用。






采用 Windows

首先,请留意针对新版 CentOS(CentOS > 6.5、CentOS 7)的指引都收录在此页的顶部

由 CentOS 6.5 起,你只需运用 Win32 Disk Imager 这类程序把 ISO 档安装至 USB 存储器上,便能简单地创建一支开机用的存储器。这样做会删除存储器上的所有数据。




Translation of revision 75

zh/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey (last edited 2017-06-04 09:58:08 by TimothyLee)

How to Set Up a USB Key to Install CentOS

Starting with CentOS 6.5 and 7.0 the preferred way to create a USB stick to install from is by using dd (example below).

<!> Some of the Alternatives at the bottom are preferred by other users, and are demonstrated to work with CentOS-6.

The procedures below have been tested by various users, but may not cover all eventualities. There is a formal CentOS project recommended approach and that is to use dd.

Motivation

Many recent systems, particularly netbooks and small notebooks, may not have a CD or DVD drive and a network install may be difficult, impractical, or impossible, depending on network connectivity and installer support for the available network hardware. This procedure allows a CentOS install without network connectivity and with no media other than a bootable USB device and the target system disk.

CentOS release 6 (newer than 6.5) and CentOS 7

Starting with CentOS 6.5, one can install from USB keys by simply transferring the desired ISO using dd.

For example, assuming your USB stick is seen as /dev/sdb (please double check what yours is, do not blindly assume /dev/sdb as you may overwrite something irretrievably):

dd if=CentOS-6.5-x86_64-bin-DVD1.iso of=/dev/sdb

You must write to the entire device and not a partition on it (so, /dev/sdb not /dev/sdb1)

When asked for the media to install from, select "hard disk" and then the device corresponding to the USB key.

Make sure you select as destination the device corresponding to the USB key (/dev/sdb in the above example) and not a partition (such as /dev/sdb1)

Exactly the same method works for CentOS 7. Moreover, the CentOS 7 installer image has a special partitioning which, as of July 2014, most Windows tools do NOT transfer correctly leading to undefined behaviour when booting from the USB key. Applications known (so far) to NOT work are unetbootin, multibootusb and "universal usb installler" - do NOT use these. Confirmed as functioning correctly are Rufus (may depend on options selected, there have been reports of failure with rufus too), Fedora LiveUSB Creator, Win32 Disk Imager, Rawrite32 and dd for Windows. If using a version of Windows newer than 7, make sure you unmount the USB drive first (formatting it prior to launching the disk copier is one way to accomplish that), otherwise Windows might refuse to write on the stick, bailing out with the "can't write to drive" error message.

If using dd for Windows, run dd --list and look carefully at the list of NT Block Device Objects and use the one that looks like \\?\Device\Harddisk1\Partition0 where the description is something like Removable media other than floppy. Block size = 512. Be very careful about which output device you pick or you may overwrite something you did not intend to! On my machine I ran dd if=CentOS-7.0-1406-DVD.iso of=\\?\Device\Harddisk1\Partition0 - your device names and command may vary accordingly!

Previous versions of CentOS 6

Beware that only the very latest CentOS releases are supported. We strongly advise you to not install anything but the latest minor release. Therefore the following methods should no longer be attempted unless you have a very very good reason to install an old and unsupported release.

An end user recommends the following approach for CentOS-6, using livecd-iso-to-disk from livecd-tools with DVD1. This has been tested with livecd-tools-13.4-1.el6 from EPEL. Thanks to forum user AndrewSerk for the recommendation in a forum post. See also the notation of a need for installation of qemu in this mailing list post.

Older Method

<!> This method has been reported as still viable for CentOS 6.4

Building a distribution on a USB key as of CentOS 6.2 - thanks to Mark Roth for the CentOS-6 procedure, and to Yves Bellefeuille on the CentOS-Docs list for several additions and corrections.

Recommended: An 8GB or larger USB key.

  1. Partition the USB key into two partitions: the first, FAT32, and about 250M; the second, the rest of the drive, and ext3. (An ext3 partition is required because the ISO file, that will later be copied to it, is larger than the maximum file size for a FAT32 or VFAT partition.)
  2. Mount DVD1, if it isn't automounted (on /media, or /mnt). The following assumes /mnt/USB and /mnt/DVD.
  3. Mount the USB key on /mnt/USB/.

  4. Copy the directory and contents of /mnt/DVD/isolinux to /mnt/USB/.

  5. Rename /mnt/USB/isolinux to /mnt/USB/syslinux

  6. Rename /mnt/USB/syslinux/isolinux.cfg to /mnt/USB/syslinux/syslinux.cfg

  7. Copy the directory and contents of /mnt/DVD/images to /mnt/USB/. (A bug has been filed [ToDo - add link] because as of 11 Jan 2012, the install requires the .iso (see below), but linux rescue requires the contents of images to load and run.)

  8. Assuming that the USB key is /dev/sdb
    syslinux /dev/sdb1 
  9. Unmount the first USB partition, and mount the second
    umount /mnt/USB
    mount /dev/sdb2 /mnt/USB 
  10. Copy the .iso file to /mnt/USB. Do not use the LiveCD or LiveDVD. Use DVD1, the minimal CD ISO, or a combined DVD1/DVD2 created following CD to DVD Media. Do not copy the contents - the install now wants the .iso file itself, which it mounts during installation, and follow the upstream Installation_Guide to create an images directory on the same partition. Optionally, add DVD2 if you used DVD1, and need it for the install.

  11. Optional: On /mnt/USB, create a grub.conf. This may be required if your system wants the USB key as the first drive, so that you can later copy it to the hard disk. See HowTos/GrubInstallation section 2 for guidance.

  12. Umount the USB key, and it's ready to use.
  13. Boot from the USB media by setting it as the first BIOS boot device, or on some BIOSs by hitting a key such as F12 to select a boot device after POST.
  14. During the installation process, the user is asked "What type of media contains the installation image?" Select the first partition on the USB key, which should appear in the menu under "Hard drive", then /dev/sda1 or whatever device corresponds to the first USB partition.

  15. After partitioning, the user is asked whether to install the Grub boot loader and where to install it. After booting from the USB key, the BIOS may think that the USB key is the first drive. If the USB is seen as the first device, then to install the Grub boot loader on the hard drive MBR, which is the usual case, the user must change the order of the hard drives using the Grub advanced installation options.
  16. After the Grub installation options, the following error message may appear: "Missing ISO 9660 image: The installer has tried to mount image #1, but cannot find it on the hard drive". The installation program is looking for the ISO file on the first partition of the USB key, but it's on the second partition. Go to a terminal with a shell with Ctrl-Alt-F2, unmount the first partition of the USB

    umount /mnt/isodir
    mount the second partition on the USB device. This will be the same device used in #14 above - for example
    mount -t ext3 /dev/sda2 /mnt/isodir
    Return to the installation program (Ctrl-Alt-F6) and choose "Retry".
  17. Finish the installation and reboot without the USB device connected. If there are problems booting then it is likely the boot record was written to the wrong device. See How to re-install bootstrap code (GRUB), and if having difficulties determining the correct device, Troubleshooting GRUB Issues.

Alternatives

<!> These alternative methods are listed as a historical convenience. They mostly apply only to CentOS 6 and should not be used for CentOS 7. The best way to copy a CentOS ISO image to a USB stick is using dd.

UNetbootin is probably the most popular "outside" method, has both Windows and Linux executables, and allows you to create bootable Live USB drives for a variety of Linux distributions. This utility is no longer recommended for use as it fails to work with newer CentOS iso images. There was an anaconda bug that could render the media unusable - now closed for Fedora 13 and presumably thus RHEL/CentOS-6. It has been reported on the fora to work with at least the netinstall ISO for CentOS-6. When using the netinstall ISO the full installation media ISO can be copied to the root directory of the USB media and a "Hard Drive" install performed.


Much better is livecd-iso-to-disk which can be obtained from git:

https://git.fedorahosted.org/cgit/livecd/plain/tools/livecd-iso-to-disk.sh

Just download it, chmod +x and run:

./livecd-iso-to-disk.sh /path/to/iso /dev/partition_of_your_usb_stick

You could also add an option like:

--overlay-size-mb 1024

to add some persistent space to the key.

The resulting key could directly be used for installations, without the need of placing the iso manually on the key.






Using Windows

First of all, take into account that the instructions for modern CentOS versions ( CentOS 6 > 6.5, CentOS 7 ) are at the top of this page.

Starting with CentOS 6.5, one can create a bootable USB key simply by installing the ISO file on the key using a program such as Win32 Disk Imager. This will delete all information already on the key.




HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey (last edited 2017-05-19 15:24:18 by TrevorHemsley)