從源代碼安裝軟件

由於 CentOS 且備一個完整的軟件開發環境,普遍來說並沒有重要的障礙能夠阻止你將 tar.gztar.bz2 解壓,然後編譯及安裝這些軟件。這個所謂 ../configure; make; sudo make install 的方法,在欠缺良好包裝系統的環境下無可避免是要用的。

然而除非你有絕對必要,否則不應這樣做的原因有好幾個。此外你亦須留心數個警告。


弊處


利處

如果你完全無法找到所需的套件,那麼就是時候考慮你要如何建立及安裝這個軟件。


警告

<!> 切勿因為你認為有絕對需要用較新版本的軟件,而嘗試安裝那些在 CentOS 內已包含源代碼套件的軟件。這樣做會造成破壞

當你遁這個方向走,你便踏離了由發行版本提供的自動安全性更新的範圍。將要獨力承擔修正、重新編譯、及安裝軟件等責任。

假若你真的、真的、真的需要這樣做,請嘗試與軟件並存,例如安裝在 /opt 或在 /usr/local/ 內。

如果你需要 perl 模塊,切勿使用 CPAN,因為這樣做多數會破壞你的 perl 安裝。請嘗試利用 cpan2rpm 來包裝 perl 模塊,也或者利用 fedora-rpmdevtools 提供給 perl 模塊用的 spec 範本。同樣的忠告亦適用於 python。很多獨立的包裝者在過往亦須要解決同樣的問題,因此你應該考慮採用他們軟件庫內的程式或源代碼套件。

fedora-rpmdevtools 已被收錄在 kbs-CentOS-Extras 軟件庫內。見「軟件庫」。它們亦可幫助你建立一般的 rpm。


結論

切勿從源代碼建立軟件,儘可能使用其它軟件庫。假若你需要親自建立軟件:自製套件。假若你無法自製套件:將軟件安裝在一個不會產生衡突的位置。 永遠不要取替 CentOS 附帶的軟件。

另外請記得: 如果系統損壞了,你要獨自收拾殘局。舉例說,IRC 頻道將不會提供任何支援。

Translation of revision 9

zh-tw/PackageManagement/SourceInstalls (last edited 2018-12-11 20:45:12 by TimothyLee)

Software Installation from Source

Because CentOS comes with a complete software development environment available to it, there are usually no important barriers to keep you from installing software out of a tar.gz or a tar.bz2 by unrolling and then compiling it. This is referred to as the ./configure ; make ; sudo make install way, which environments without good packaging systems are forced to use

But there are several good reasons for not doing so except if you absolutely have to. And there are some caveats you have to keep in mind


Contra


Pro

If you absolutely cannot find the software you are looking for, then think about how you build and install the software


Caveats

<!> DO NOT attempt to install software packages which are part of CentOS as a source package, because you think you absolutely need the newest version. THIS WILL OFTEN BREAK THINGS

Once you do proceed down this path, you have stepped out of the automatic security upgrade process which the distribution usually provides. It becomes incumbent upon you and you alone, to stay abreast of the fixes and patch your own source tree, recompile, reinstall etc.

If you really, really, really have to do so, then try to install it in parallel to the existing software, for example in /opt or in /usr/local/

If you need perl modules, DO NOT use CPAN, as that will most likely break your perl installation. Please try to package the perl module with either cpan2rpm or use the spec template for perl modules from fedora-rpmdevtools. The same advice goes for python. Many of the independent packagers have had to solve these issues before you, and you should consider their Repository for a binary or source RPM solution

The fedora-rpmdevtools are in the kbs-CentOS-Extras Repository. See Repositories. These may also help you with building normal rpms


Conclusion

Do not build software from source, use other Repositories if possible. If you have to build software: Roll your own packages. If you cannot roll your own packages: Install the software in a non-conflicting place. NEVER overwrite software which is shipped with CentOS

And remember: If you break it, you get to keep both pieces. There will be no support from the IRC-Channel, for example

PackageManagement/SourceInstalls (last edited 2009-06-03 14:43:26 by FabianArrotin)