替代架構 SIG

目標

把 CentOS Linux 的應用範圍延伸至源碼以外的架構,並超越核心 SIG 現時所支援的。

提供協助的委員會成員:JimPerrinKaranbirSingh

現況

此特別興趣小組現負責製作 ppc64、ppc64le、i386、armhfp(32 位元 arm v7)、aarch64(64 位元 arm v8)的 CentOS Linux 7 安裝映像及整個目錄樹。

摘要

此特別興趣小組是由社群中的成員設立及管理的,他們都有意移植 CentOS Linux 至核心 SIG 所未支援的架構及平台。

註:此小組並未命名為「次要架構 SIG」,因為「次要」此詞帶有次一等之意 —— 我們寧願標籤發行版本(test、devel、alpha、beta 等),都總好過令一個「次要」的小組永遠被孤。

此小組將會能夠按需要匯入內容,按需要改寫內容,並以適合目標平台的媒體進行發行。為求彈性處理對象所需功能,源碼樹有可能不對應上游。

對於那些由發行商驅策,並全權擁有和落實的平台(可見於 ARMv7 及 v8 架構),我建議發行商參予這個項目 —— 但請避免扮演特定的角色。為了令此項目能持久,發行商若能鼓勵機構內的員工以個人身份參予 CentOS 替代架構 SIG,成效會更高。

我們堅持所有冠以 CentOS 品牌的內容成須寄存、建立及發行自 CentOS 架構小組所操作的架構,以 CentOS 的金鑰(由核心 SIG 管理)簽署,而且必須可免費再發行。

運作方式

git.centos.org:

這些架構的分支將會/可以用來存放 spec 檔和個別架構在源碼上所需的改動。要是多個架構都需要同一個改動,我們只需讓相關的分支都附帶該改動(但我們亦可向其他有可能得益的架構推廣這個改動)。最基本的假設,就是受保護的核心分支只對應 CentOS Linux 7 的 x86_64 發行版本,和 CentOS 5 與 6 的 i686 + x86_64 版本。

當有需要採用多個分支時(例如發行商專用的 aarch64 內容?),我們必須設定一個命名的程序。現有的模式擴充性不高(因為 git 及 koji 目標要排序,且只支援單一遺傳)。這亦是我們在虛擬化、儲存和雲端 SIG 所面對的挑戰 —— 因此解決方法或許指日可待(假如替代架構 SIG 需要這個層次的詳盡性)

koji 可按需要增加目標。這些目標應該盡可能對應 git 分支的名稱,並隨著硬件增多時納入中央集用場。每個分支最少都應含有 -devel、-testing 和 -released 的 koji 目標。替代架構 SIG 的成員都應該能存取個人分支、受保讓的 git 分支和其他架構的分支。

特別興趣小組的「產品」將會發行為:

對於那些想在未正式發行的平台上有所貢獻的人,我們需要設立一個運作方式,協助他們存放及預先發行內容。

運作中的架構組別

貢獻及參予

所有參予此項工程的申請都應該在centos-devel 列表上提交(http://lists.centos.org/ )—— 並清楚列明你有興趣建立的架構、所需的硬件及將會佔用的資源(有需要的話)。

成員

此特別興趣小組的現有成員包括:

Translation of revision 14

zh-tw/SpecialInterestGroup/AltArch (last edited 2018-09-27 12:21:47 by TimothyLee)

The Alternative Architecture SIG

Goal

To extend the CentOS Linux usability base beyond the architectures supported already in the code base, and beyond what is being done in the Core SIG.

Board Member helping: JimPerrin & KaranbirSingh

Current Status

This SIG is being OnBoarded.

Abstract

This SIG would be a setup and managed up from community members who want to come and help port CentOS Linux to architectures and platforms not supported by the Core SIG itself.

Note: this is not called secondary arch group, since the word secondary indicates some level of inferiority - and I would rather we use release tagging (test, devel, alpha, beta, etc) rather than silo a group into always being only 'secondary'.

The group would have the ability to import content as needed, adapt content as needed, deliver in media that is suitable and needed for the platform they are targeting. Allowing for a lot more flexibility w.r.t features specific to their audience, and may or may not map to upstream tree's.

For vendor driven ecosystems where they own the entire platform and implementation of the platform (eg. as seen in the ARMv7 and v8 space), I encourage vendors to get involved with the effort - however do so without making it a role driven position. For the continuity of the effort, its far more productive for vendors to encourage individual level participation from their organisations into the CentOS AltArch effort.

We will retain the requirement that all 'CentOS' branded content must be hosted, built and delivered from infra operated by the CentOS Infra team, signed with a CentOS key (run by the Core SIG), must be freely redistributeable.

Working process

git.centos.org:

These arch branches will/can be used to host spec file and source changes as needed specific to that arch. If a change is needed for multiple arch's, we just need to then carry it in all those branches (but we can socialise the changeset to the other arch's that might benefit from this change). The baseline assumption is that the core protected branch then only corresponds to the x86_64 distro for CentOS Linux 7, and for i686 + x86_64 on CentOS Linux 5 and 6.

In situations where there is a need for multi branches (eg. for aarch64 for vendor specific content ?) we would need to workout a naming process. the current model does not scale well for that (since git and koji targets are meant to line up, with only peer inheritance). This is a challenge we are trying to work through for the VIRT, Storage and Cloud SIGs as well - so a solution might not be too far (if there really is a need for this level of granularity in the AltArch SIG).

Koji can grow targets as needed. These targets should map to the git branch names as much as possible, and as hardware is available to contribute into a central pool. Each koji target per branch should have atleast a -devel, -testing and -released targets. Users in the AltArch group should be able to pull from their own branch, the protected git branches, and other arch branches.

SIG 'product' will be release as : * to buildlogs and cbs.centos.org/repos/ as a testing / devel set of repos and installs as needed * to mirror.centos.org as 'stable' but under a different SIG path. Note: as and when the CentOS CDN comes up, the actual final destination will be controlled by popularity of a specific rpm, and the mirror.centos.org target for stable might not be an issue anymore.

For people who want to work on pre-release platforms, we can come up with a working process that helps them stage and release early onplatform availability.

Active Arch Groups

Contributing and Getting involved

All requests to join this effort should be made to the centos-devel list (http://lists.centos.org/) - and clearly indicate what architectures you are interested in working on, what hardware that might require and what resources will be used (also if you need any) for this effort.

Members

Current Members of this SIG include:

SpecialInterestGroup/AltArch (last edited 2015-11-17 21:13:35 by JamesOConnor)