填鸭式教育

CentOS 的主要 IRC 频道在其它地方已经有详细的描述,但 #centos 频道的一个中央特性就是它并不鼓励以「填鸭式」的方法来答覆那些随意进入频道,又随意发问的人。

他们所问的问题可能会离题,甚至乎与 CentOS 完全无关。这个频道也不是新用户的训练场,由为它不会亦不可能有效地扩充规模 —— 为了达到这个目的,CentOS 计划发行了完整的文件。其它问题牵涉到建基於 CentOS 的下游损坏了的分叉版本,它们经常出现在虚拟服务器的应用上。

「知情」的频道常客拒绝猜测如何去修正不属於 CentOS 的随机损坏内容。每一日都有关於良好的诊断技巧、将问题分割、阅读文件〔阅读那些优质的文件〕等的示范。「IRC 要求」页内已列出了部份可辨认损坏了的或不是 CentOS 的安装,这样便能避免有潜在性危险的瞎猜。

根据经验,提供「填鸭式」答案的后果就是发问者於频道上消失,便并未学懂如何解决他们的问题;他们经常会在数周后带著同一个问题重现。由於它们没有学晓如何研究答案,过程再次重演。我们知道,因为这个频道是被 CentOS 计划的成员所监听的,而我们的确发现有这个情况。为未作准备的发问者不断重复提供简单答案所带来的负面后果(在不采取 #centos 方针的频道),就是赶走那些拥有强诊断技巧和富经验的频道常客。你可以将视为低信噪比。 ;-)

要日复一日地回答千篇一律的问题,而这些问题只需做少少研究已经能够解答,这对於频道的常客来说著实不是味儿。有些题目甚至常见到一个情度它们被收录在 wiki 的常见问题内。视乎问题是闗乎 CentOS 的哪一方面,这样做可能会不合理,因为它为将来增加维护保持更新的负担。实例可见「CentOS 上的 java」的第二段,它的内容就经常过时。

此外,这个频道所主将的「苏格拉底发问法」亦可见於每个用户进入 IRC 频道时所显示的 '/topic' 内。当中所收录的连结,指向 ESR 所撰写的「如何聪明地发问」。亦有一些类似的文章是由其它人撰写的。其它关乎 #centos IRC 频道管理理念的声明亦收录於主网页上,它们都值得一读。

/topic 中另一个部份强调了那条「请勿张贴在这里(除非被问到;最多一行)」的规则,并提及一个剪贴桶。这份对长篇张贴的厌恶是在相关计划的频道上得回来的。明显地在一个开发用的频道,长篇张贴在频道出现是常见及恰当的;但在 #centos,这只会明证张贴者漠视了 /topic。

这里想提出的,就是 CentOS 刻意地选择了采用「苏格拉底发问法」的模式:就是由一位有学识的导师引导一位学生发问,达致发问者能寻获答案。这样做亦可令频道更能成为「潜伏者」的教学工具。若然如此,就有必要舍弃「填鸭式」的答案。

授人以鱼, 不如授人以渔。」 —— 老子

Translation of revision 12

zh/SpoonFeed (last edited 2012-04-24 06:38:43 by TimothyLee)

Spoonfeed

The CentOS main IRC channel is described elsewhere in greater detail, but a central characteristic of the channel #centos is that it discourages 'spoonfeeding' answers to random people who wander into the channel, and ask a random question.

Such questions may be off topic, and indeed some have no CentOS specific aspect at all. Neither is the channel a new user training venue, as it does not and cannot scale effectively. The CentOS project publishes full documentation for such purposes. Others relate to downstream or broken fork implementations based on CentOS, often seen in virtual server applications.

'In the know' channel regulars reject guessing how to fix random non-CentOS broken content. Teaching good diagnostic skills, partition of problems, reading the documentation [ Read That FINE Manual ], and so forth are demonstrated daily. Tools used to identify broken or non-CentOS installations, and so to avoid potentially harmful haphazard guessing, are listed in part at the IRC request page.

From experience, the result of giving such a 'spoonfed' answer, is that the questioner disappears from the channel, but has not learned how to solve their problem; they often re-appear weeks later, with the same question. Because they were not taught how to research answers, the process recurs. We know, as the channel is continuously logged and monitored by CentOS project members, and we detect such. This boring repetition of simple answers for unprepared questioners has the negative effect (in channels without the #centos approach) of driving channel regulars with strong diagnostic technique and experience away. Think of it as a poor Signal to Noise ratio. ;-)

It is no fun for channel regulars to be pounded with the same questions, which a tiny bit of research will readily answer, day after day; some topics are so common that a FAQ type entry is written in this wiki. This may or not make sense with questions with a specific CentOS aspect, because it imposes maintenance load into the future, keeping it up to date. See, e.g., the second part of the java on CentOS article, which rots with great regularity.

Additionally, the Socratic approach of the channel is signaled by the fact that all entering the IRC channel see the '/topic' which carries a link to the ESR writeup about How to Ask Questions the Smart Way. Similar pieces exist by others. Other statements of #centos IRC channel management intent also exist on the main web pages and are worth a read.

Another part of the '/topic' is the strong: DO NOT PASTE IN HERE (unless asked; 1 line MAX) rule, and reference to a pastebin. This distaste for large pastes has been picked up in some channels of related projects. Clearly in a development channel, large pastes in channel are common and proper; but in #centos, it is just a confirmation by the paster that they have disregarded the '/topic'.

The takeaway here is that CentOS has consciously chosen to use a Socratic method approach, that of an informed mentor asking leading questions of a student, to guide a questioner to finding an answer; this has the effect also of making the channel more of an educational tool for 'lurkers'. Of necessity, this also disfavors 'spoonfeeding' answers.

"Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach him how to fish and you feed him for a lifetime." -- Lao Tzu 老子

or ...

"Give a man a fire and he's warm for a day, but set fire to him and he's warm for the rest of his life. "

SpoonFeed (last edited 2012-08-10 17:22:18 by RussHerrold)