如何修复拥有多于一个失效硬盘的软件 RAID5 扇区

作者:LevShamardin

当一个 RAID5 扇区内的某个硬盘失效,基本上大事已经不妙,但有时情况可以更坏,而一个 RAID5 扇区更可能有多于一个硬盘失效。在这些情形下,mdadm 不会容许你引导这个扇区。基于 RAID5 的内部数据结构,当有多于一个失效的硬盘时,便不能修复扇区内的所有数据。但在不少情况下,扇区内的大部份数据仍是可救回的,因为一般来说硬盘只会出现局部故障,而额外部份仍是可读的。这页描述引导一个拥有多于一个失效硬盘的 RAID5 扇区时所需的步骤。

郑重警告

这些指令可能会损坏你的数据致不能修复的地步。我们强烈地推荐你将失效 RAID 扇区内的所有硬盘进行复制,包括有毛病的硬盘,然后在复制本上进行修复的程序。请注意,在没有特殊仪器的情况下,单单尝试复制失效硬盘上的数据足以对硬盘构成更多损坏。后果请自负。

如何引导拥有多于一个失效硬盘的扇区

这里的指令假设在一个 RAID5 扇区内存有两个失效的硬盘,但这些指令可以扩展至甚何数量的坏硬盘。我们会假设这个 RAID 扇区由 /dev/sda1dev/sdb1/dev/sdc1/dev/sdd1/dev/sde1 这些硬盘所组成,并假定 /dev/sdc/dev/sdd 失了效。

  1. 你必须最少一个新的可用硬盘,它会用来代替其中一个失效的硬盘。
  2. 请将其中一个失效的硬盘复制到新的硬盘。你应该选择那个毁坏较少的硬盘。这个硬盘将会被称为「较好的硬盘」,而第二个有问题的硬盘会被称名「较坏的硬盘」。请以你刚复制好硬盘取代较好的硬盘。切勿利用一个有毛病的硬盘来进行以下步骤,因为一旦它失效,整个扇区又会再次被停顿。在我们的样例里,我们会将 /dev/sdc 复制到一个新的硬盘上,然后以复制品取代有问题的 /dev/sdc

  3. 查阅 RAID5 扇区的参数。在任何一个有效的硬盘上执行 mdadm -E:

    mdadm -E /dev/sdb1
    

    留意 Chunk SizeLayout

  4. 在降级模式下重建 RAID 扇区。你必须知道以下数据才能完成:
    • XXX —— 你的 RAID 扇区内的硬盘数量。
    • YYY —— 你的 RAID 扇区的数据块尺寸。这已经在上一步断定了。
    • ZZZ —— RAID 扇区的布局。这已经在上一步断定了。
    • 哪一个硬盘并不存在(也就是较坏的硬盘,在样例中是 /dev/sdd1)。

    执行如下的指令:

    mdadm --create /dev/md0 -n XXX -c YYY -l 5 -p ZZZ --assume-clean /dev/sda1 /dev/sdb1 /dev/sdc1 missing /dev/sde1 
    

    你应该根据你失去了的硬盘(即较坏的硬盘)的实际位置及 RAID 扇区的布局来调整这个指令,以 missing 这个参数来代替较坏的硬盘。

现在,既然你已将 RAID 扇区在降级模式下引导,你便可以尝试修复你的数据。你亦可以用一个新的硬盘来取代失去了的硬盘并重建这个 RAID,因为它已经不再包含失效的硬盘。重建后的 RAID 扇区上大部份数据应该没有错误;如果幸运地,所有硬盘的故障都出现在文件系统的空白位置上,你甚至可能救回全部数据。

Translation of revision 6

zh/TipsAndTricks/Repair RAID5 Volumes (last edited 2010-03-08 09:03:31 by TimothyLee)

How to repair a software RAID5 volume with more than one failed disk

Author: LevShamardin

It is usually bad when a disk fails in a RAID5 volume, but sometimes things may get even worse, and a RAID5 volume may lose more than one disk. In such cases mdadm would not allow you to start the volume. Due to the internal data organization of RAID5 if there is more than one failed disk it is not possible to recover all the data stored on the volume. But in many cases it is possible to rescue most of the data from the volume, because usually only part of the disk has actual failures, and the rest of the failed disk is still readable. But to recover data from such volume you need to start the volume. This page describes the steps which would allow to start a RAID5 volume which had more than one failed disks.

Big fat warning

These instructions may irreversibly damage your data. It is highly recommended to make a copy of all drives in your failed RAID volume, including the failed drives, and do all recovery procedures on the copy. Please notice, that even trying to copy data from a failing disk without use of special equipment may induce more damage to the failed disk. Proceed on your own risk.

How to start a volume with more than one failed disk

These instructions assume two failed disks in one RAID5 volume, but they may be generalized for any number of failed disks. We will assume that the RAID volume consists of disks /dev/sda1, /dev/sdb1, /dev/sdc1, /dev/sdd1, /dev/sde1, and consider that two drives /dev/sdc and /dev/sdd have failed.

  1. You will need at least one new working hard drive, which would be used in place of one of the failed drives.
  2. Make a full copy of one of the failed disks to a new disk. You should choose the disk which presumably has less failed areas. This failed disk will be called 'less failed disk', and the second failed disk will be called 'more failed disk' from now on. Replace the less failed disk with a copy you've just made. Do not follow these instructions using failing disks because a volume will stop and break again as soon as the disk fails. In our case we will make a copy of disk /dev/sdc to a new one, and replace old failing /dev/sdc with a copy.

  3. Discover the parameters of the RAID5 volume. Run mdadm -E on any of the non-failed disks:

    mdadm -E /dev/sdb1
    

    Notice the Chunk Size and Layout.

  4. Recreate the RAID volume in degraded mode. To do this you must know the following:
    • XXX - Number of disks in your RAID volume.
    • YYY - Size of the chunk of your RAID volume. This is determined in previous step.
    • ZZZ - the layout of the RAID volume. This is determined in previous step.
    • Which of the drives is missing (that is the more failed disk, /dev/sdd1 in our case).

    Execute the command like:

    mdadm --create /dev/md0 -n XXX -c YYY -l 5 -p ZZZ --assume-clean /dev/sda1 /dev/sdb1 /dev/sdc1 missing /dev/sde1 
    

    You should adapt this to the exact position of your missing drive (which is a more failed disk) and your layout of the RAID volume and replace the more failed disk with 'missing' argument.

Now you have your RAID volume up and running in degraded mode, and you may try to recover your data. Or you can replace the missing drive with a new one and rebuild the RAID since now you have no failing disks in it. Most of the data on the recreated RAID volume should be uncorrupted, and if you were lucky to have disk failures on empty filesystem areas even all of the data may be safe.

TipsAndTricks/Repair RAID5 Volumes (last edited 2009-08-20 08:30:20 by LevShamardin)